Skip to content

I Got a Piropo!

08/12/2009
You probably read this title and thought “what the heck is a piropo?”  Nope not  some new crazy japanese toy that every kid wants for Christmas…not a fancy pirate something or other… and not new food that everyone wants to go out and buy after reading it on my blog.

Nope a piropo is a Spanish word for the strange compliments you get from people that are kind of unsolicited.  The last time I got one was in 2003 by a construction worker in Spain when I looked like this…

While studying in Spain with my good friend.

Yep I was about twice my roomate’s size and definitley not the one who should have been getting the compliment.  I looked nothing like the spanish women so I guess that’s why they liked me?!  I used to hear a lot of piropos like “hey pretty baby” and “Pretty Lady” which are aparently compliments and the only things they knew to say in english.



I had kind of forgotten about these kinds of “compliments” until today when I took these two for a walk.

Lazy bed bums. They snuck in there when I wasn't looking.

They really didn’t want to go but they needed a good walk after sleeping all day.  I was dressed warm for a walk and ready to go to the gym after their walk. Then out of no where I heard some teenage boys yell out their windows.  You’d think they were complimenting my fashion sense

Don't I look HOTT?!

or cute dogs….but nope they were complimenting this….

Not bad 😉

Yep some crude teenage boys yelled, “NICE A$$!” out the window as they drove by.  At first I was annoyed and shocked that they would say that and then I laughed the entire rest of the walk.  Not exactly the compliment I was looking for but made me feel pretty good that my ugh hiney looked better in my running tights than I thought.


When I told Hunni about it later he first cracked up and snorted.  Then he said “well duh! I say that all the time.”  Not the a$$ part but that I look good.  My problem is that I have a hard time accepting compliments.  Even after my revelation the other day that I look better than I realize I have a hard time when others tell me I look good.  I tend to blow it off or think they are being insincere.  For years I didn’t feel like I looked good so I never believed people when they told me I did.  And now that I look much better I still have that same mindset.  So my new goal for the rest of the week is to accept any compliments and say thank you without all the “no”, “but”, “well”, “stop”, etc.  I need to learn that not everyone sees the negative I see.  I’m my own worst critic and I need to quit it.


How do you handle compliments?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. trumanmeg permalink
    08/12/2009 12:03 PM

    Yes! You do look great Cynthia. In fact, you are beatiful and fantastic and you should be very proud.

  2. 08/12/2009 3:18 PM

    I say, “Thank you.”

    Even though I have to make myself do it. It gets easier with practice.

    Still hard to do, though.

    You are gorgeous, my dear, and have a lovely a$$ if I do say so myself 🙂

  3. Erin permalink
    08/12/2009 3:36 PM

    Work it girl ! But seriously, you look great you SHOULD be proud 🙂

  4. 08/12/2009 10:40 PM

    You definitely deserve to just say, “thank you” and believe it because I’m positive all those compliments are SO TRUE!! 🙂

  5. 09/12/2009 10:21 AM

    You a-s-s does look great! Be proud!

    I handle compliments better now. Because I know that I deserve them. I have a hard time, though, giving back compliments. Need to work on being a bit more open and expressive.

    -Denise

Leave a Reply

