Skip to content

I’m Getting Younger

05/12/2009

I realized today I seem to be getting younger and not old.  I’m about to turn 28 (in January) but I don’t feel a day over 20 🙂  And some days I don’t feel a day over 10.  That was the last time I remember wearing footie PJ’s.  My mom had already cut the feet off my last favorite pair and even they no longer fit.  But remember how I told y’all Hunni and I can’t wait to share gifts once we get them…Here are mine.

Hippity Hop Happy Bunny!

Yep I’m sitting here blogging in pink bunnies footie PJ’s and loving every second of it.  I literally jumped up and down like a bunny rabbit when the UPS guy pulled up.  Apparently Santa delivers by Amazon and UPS this year.

Hunni's cute message.

And I almost put them on in the office until I realized it might be a little unprofessional to wear them at my desk for the rest of the day.  But I did run upstairs to our apartment for lunch and wear them for my entire lunch hour :-).  It’s like wearing a snuggie but way to warm to sleep in them.  But I like looking at my feet and make the bunny ears flop.



But I do really feel younger now than I did in my early 20’s.



In my early 20’s I was wearing professional clothes all the time in an effort to feel older and look older for my first teaching job.  I already sound like a teenager and I was only 22 when I started teaching and got stopped for a hall pass several times.

I even wore professional clothes for family pics.

Now that I have to wear a uniform for work I tend to wear jeans and cute shirts on my off times.  That is when I’m not just lounging around in workout clothes like a college student. 😀

Just baking with my Ladies group.

In my early 20’s the only energy I had was quickly used up and I took lots of naps because I was just generally tired.  Now even with my crazy schedule I go to the gym at night and only take naps for fun 😉  I am a great multitasker now and get a ton done.



If I do say so myself I’m way cooler now.  I go to Christian Rock concerts with teenagers and make a complete fool out of myself for work.

Super Cheesy Smile

I’m not so uptight trying to worry about coming across professional all the time because that would just drive me nuts.  I’m at a Christian Teen Girls conference today (Saturday) and I’m excited to just hang out with a bunch of teen girls, enjoy the day and hear some awesome music.  Did I mention I love my job!



Playground games are awesome at my age.  I actually have energy now to chase my cousins around the park and play with the dogs in the house.  I wish someone would have told me this as a kid when I would rather stay inside and read my books instead of playing 4 square or climbing the jungle gym.

I guess I’m turning into Peter Pan.  I won’t grow up.  I refuse.  I like being young too much.  And who says that getting older means getting old.  My grandma got her knees replaced just so she could chase around her grand kids and my mom has started to enjoy shopping in her 50’s because she feels great about her new body (she’s lost weight on WW too).  I take after all the women in my family so at this rate I’ll be young until I’m well into my 80’s.  Sounds good to me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/12/2009 7:09 AM

    look how much progress you’ve made

    • 06/12/2009 9:55 AM

      Thanks Mish! I never thought I’d get here so I’m stoked to feel this way since I felt so old before.

  2. 07/12/2009 10:17 AM

    Same here! I’m 22 turning 23 this March 2010. But I don’t feel a day older than 15. Teehee. By the way, congrats on your progress. =D

Leave a Reply

