Skip to content

Things I Learned Today

04/12/2009

Today I had to stand Kettles because we had several kettle volunteers who called out sick.  So I stood kettles for 3 hours before all the other running around we had to do.  And I learned a few things today that I’d like to share.

If your stomach is used to eating at regular intervals, not eating for 4 hours will cause a revolt in your stomach and make you feel ick all day.  Follow your own rules Cynthia and eat the snacks you packed.  In my defense I was having fun and didn’t realize it was so late.

Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer makes everyone smile.  And little kids like to sing along even if they don’t know all the words.  Heck the adults like to sing along too and pretend they don’t. Finding joy in the Christmas memories is great.

If you sing for 3 hours straight you will not have a voice later.  Good thing I don’t actually need to talk until sometime this weekend.  Must remember to drink a bunch of hot tea and suck on some lozenges since I have to sing on sunday.

Wearing a sweater with your Boston Red Sox PJ Pants does not make it more appropriate.  Ditto adding socks to your crocks and leggings.  Stacy and Clinton are chasing these people around with a camera for sure. *Note to self: put on real pants when you go to the store*

If your husband wears an elf hat to the town tree lighting some little kid will point and call him Buddy the elf…and he will like it. He is truly in the Christmas spirit and wants to dress as Santa to stand Kettles.

No matter how crazy the day is I can always eat more microwave apple crisp!  I buy apples just to eat this stuff. Thank God it is super healthy since I eat it sometimes 3 times a day.

*Update* I forgot that I also did a bunch of my PT exercises at the Kettle Stand while I was out there.  One legged squats, hip rotations, twists, leg lifts.  Boot Camp Steve would be so proud of me even though some people probably thought I needed to go to the bathroom 🙂

It was a long day and I got through it pretty well.  Now off to bed for another long day tomorrow.  Gotta have fun with these days or I’ll go nuts.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/12/2009 1:13 AM

    I have to say… When you’re having fun, it’s kinda hard to remember about eating till it’s too late. I have had this kind of problem before.

    I learned on one of my karaoke nights with friends that cold beer and 3 hours of singing will do your voice no good. But it’s still fun! And that’s all that matters….=D

    -Denise

    • 04/12/2009 12:09 PM

      Yeah I actually have had to set an alarm to remind me to eat when I’m super busy or enjoying myself.

      • 07/12/2009 10:18 AM

        For the life of me! Why didn’t I think about doing this? Man, oh, man…. But now, I make it a point to remember to eat. And of course, eat healthy.

  2. trumanmeg permalink
    07/12/2009 5:22 PM

    Ohhh Cynthia. I love your blog. It puts a smile on my face.

    Good for you for using your kettle time to get a workout in too!

Leave a Reply

