Skip to content

Grocery Challenge

03/12/2009

To go in line with my desire to get back on budget and save some cash I thought that I would like to go shopping….in my pantry.  Today I made list of everything we have and was quite embarrassed with how much food we actually have.  I have a bad habit of buying stuff that sounds good if its on sale just in case.  That’s the reason I still have tempeh, egg roll wrappers, a pork roast, some red pepper and egg-plant tapenade, and refried beans stocking my shelves for when the big bomb hits.  I don’t normally go over budget with food but I could do with purchasing a lot less.  I could probably feed a small army with all the food we have in our pantry and fridge/freezer. 



I initially thought that I would go the entire month without shopping since I could probably go two with all the food we have.  Then that gave me a small panic attack.  I’m a good cook but if you take my recipes away from me I freak because I am not naturally talented with mixing ingredients like so many of my favorite bloggers.  I can deviate from the recipes slightly but I need a recipe for a baseline guide.  Not shopping for a month would be okay for the first few days or even weeks but then I’d start running out of options or substitutions.  Besides I am very strict with the amount of fruits and veggies I need to eat for my stomach so I really would run out of those quickly and be in pain.  And I’d go nuts not purchasing something at the grocery store when I’m already not purchasing stuff at my beloved TARGET.


Instead I decided I would resurrect the idea of a challenge I saw in the blog world this past summer but never did due to my aforementioned food shopping habits.  I am going to attempt to spend $100 or less this month in groceries!  I spent a good chunk of my evening on the couch with a headache and the list I made earlier and planned out meals.  I was surprised at just how many meals I could actually make with minimal purchases and using the food we already have.  I have it planned until the week of Christmas.  I’m sure I’ll have to rearrange them at some point due to my crazy schedule but I’m so proud of myself and my super planning brain for coming up with this….uh kinda. 


So here are the guidelines for my personal food shopping challenge:

  • Spend $100 or less on all grocery store and other food purchases for home cooking.

 

  • We will have to eat out several different meals this month.  This does not count towards the $100 since it is a work requirement.

 

  • I’ll record and update the total purchased for the week on my Monday posts about goals.

 

So there you have it.  I’m saving money this month (I normally spend about $150 every two weeks) and I’ll be trying a bunch of new recipes with all my stockpiled eats.  It should be interesting and fun if I don’t lose my mind. 



Are you up to joining me?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    03/12/2009 9:28 AM

    that sounds like a great challenge! That’s one thing I wish we could do, but we don’t have a pantry or extra freezer, etc, so I don’t have room to stockpile stuff! 🙂

  2. 03/12/2009 9:44 PM

    Good luck with your challenge!!

    Isn’t it amazing how muc h food is actually in the pantry when you think you don’t have much?? Ha, I know I’m always surprised when I try to save money and use what i have.

    • 04/12/2009 12:04 AM

      I was shocked. I think I have enough for two months worth of this challenge.

  3. 04/12/2009 1:17 AM

    Wow! That really does sound like a challenge. Even when $100 is converted to our currency, it still is a challenge. I’ve honestly been hoping that my mom would have the time to plan out the menu for the family. I don’t want to do it myself because then we’d have a coup at home. If it were up to me, I’d have all veggies, fruits, and chicken for meals.

    I hope you do well with the challenge! Keep us updated on how it goes….

    -Denise

    • 04/12/2009 12:08 PM

      That amount gives you an idea of how much food I already have in our house 🙂

      • 07/12/2009 10:20 AM

        Yeah, it’s a lot of food. But like you, I’m not so good with improvising and whipping up a meal from readily-available ingredients. So I understand…. =D

        -Denise

Trackbacks

  1. Harry Potter Fun and Goals « It All Changes
  2. This week in goals « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

