Skip to content

Addicted

25/11/2009

I realized lately that my new found health really has given me some addictions…but in a good way not a bad way.  I have made some healthy addictions that help me to be happier than I’ve ever been.  I thought I’d share a few of them with you to see how addictions don’t always have to be of the negative variety.

 

First I am so addicted to the new Candy Cane Green Tea I bought at Trader Joe’s a few week’s back.  I think it is my new favorite.  And with the colder weather I think I love using it to get in my water.  Actually my electric hot-pot is sitting on my window sill and is constantly re-heating for another cup.  I actually had about 6 cups today and I about floated away.  But it is a nice change from the iced cold water I’ve been chugging in my Sigg bottles.  But I keep them around just in case I run out of tea or burn my tongue like I did today 🙂

 

I’m also addicted to running.  I was the girl who used to say I would only run if I was being chased.  In fact that was the only time I ran.  Then I realized I needed to up my cardio to keep losing weight so I “taught” myself to run.  I was sucking wind the first few times I did but it quickly got easier.  By the time I was on week 6 of the Couch to 5K program I was running the entire thing.  I realized that when I wanted to run in the blazing heat of July while I was on my summer internship I was addicted.  I actually would go for a run more if my body would let me.  I was devastated when I had to stop due to my back injury and overjoyed when my Physical Therapist and Doctor both said I was cleared to “re-teach” myself to run.  I love being back and now that my hip is almost 100% better I am super excited to run a Turkey Trot on Thursday.  You know I have to be addicted to get up and run a Turkey Trot on my only day off between now and Christmas.

 

I’m addicted washing my hands lately.  Not that I didn’t wash them before but I’m super vigilant about it now.  After that lovely flu that Hunni shared with me I have been washing my hands a ton and using lots of antibacterial soap and wipes.  The only problem with this addiction is that my hands are a little raw and I had to drag out the bag balm from our lotions box to soothe them.  Sweat from the above running addiction in raw skin did not feel nice.  But now my hands are nice and shiny from the lotion. I might even be able to see my reflection 😀

 

I’m totally addicted to cooking at home.  Don’t get me wrong I love to eat out but it doesn’t have a huge appeal to me since I have to do it so often for work.  So I really enjoy the times that we can just eat at home and I can cook for Hunni.  It gives me a chance to try new recipes and flavors and just fun in the kitchen with me and Hunni together.  I love to spend the few free moments I have looking for new recipes that I can try.  It makes it fun to try new flavors and foods that I wouldn’t try normally.

 

And I’m totally addicted to workout clothes.  My workout drawers are stuffed the gills with pants, shorts, capris, tights and shirts.  I have a so many race shirts that I love and sweatshirts that I love to wear for warmth.  I have said in the past that I am more likely to go to the workout clothes section than I am to the regular clothes.  I love being able to have several outfits to wear throughout the week for the many different exercises I do (PT in the morning, Yoga some days, Running/weights in the evening).  I love the variety but I kind of need to thin it out since some are not my current size and I don’t intend on being that size again.

 

I’m addicted to just trying new stuff in general because my life could get too boring and routine if I didn’t.  I think blogging really fits that void because I’m constantly thinking of new things to share with you lovely bloggies.  I guess this is my version of sharing my knowledge and journey since I’ll never be a Weight Watchers Leader.  I just hope you enjoy my addiction or else I’m talking to thin air.  It’s okay to be an enabler for this kind of addiction right?  🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 25/11/2009 10:23 AM

    I love this post!! It is so funny how your tastes and preferences change when you change your lifestyle. I’m the same way that I prefer cooking at home to eating out — I really like to know exactly what’s in my food!

    I definitely also share the addiction to workout clothes, but I wish I could share the running addiction! 😉

    • 25/11/2009 12:09 PM

      Thanks Kara! I think the Running addiction came from being able to show all those high school teachers and kids who thought the fat Cynthia could/would never run. That’s why I want to run a marathon. That and the satisfaction of achieving it.

  2. 25/11/2009 10:46 AM

    I can agree so much with this post. I am addicted to many of things you are too.

    I love water and tea and I am constantly drinking both water and tea. I love a good peppermint tea and I may have to try the one you like from TJ’s.

    As for workout clothes, I am seriously addicted. I have so much and I am constantly asking for more. I love workout clothes, they make working out fun.

    As for running, I’m about ready to get out of my hiatus and get running again. I think I may even look up some races and start planning 2010.

  3. 26/11/2009 10:19 PM

    I am definitely addicted to tea since beginning to eat healthy! In fact, I totally agree with all of your new found addictions 🙂 (minus running, I haven’t gotten there yet but I’d like to begin running more)

Leave a Reply

