Skip to content

Breakfast in Bed

18/11/2009

I love that show the Good Wife just because Julianna Margulies is so awesome.  I’ve missed her since she left ER and didn’t do much else.  She is great on this new show.  Okay that was totally random thought because I missed the show tonight and have to Hulu it tomorrow.  But I was a good wife myself today…but not in the my husband got caught in a sex scandal and is in jail kind of way.  I was a good wife because I made Hunni breakfast in bed.  😉

 

When we registered for our wedding we asked for a Breakfast tray thinking we could use it for romantic breakfasts.  However the thing has only collected dust in the corner of our living room occasionally to be used to hold a laptop.  Guess we aren’t the romantic breakfast type.  Today that changed 🙂  I made this lovely breakfast for Hunni and served it to him in bed.

The spread.

How sweet and sappy right.  Who doesn’t want to be woken up to an awesome breakfast.  The only problem is that it was BFD (breakfast for dinner).  Look at the time on the clock…

That was PM not AM.

Hunni had a long day and for what its worth long week thus far so he was in bed taking a nap before he had to run a ton of errands.  I felt bad for him so I decided to make dinner and serve it in bed.  Just so happens that it was BFD on my menu and I had pulled out these yummy things…

They were hiding in my freezer.

The menu was my version of sophisticated pigs in a blanket.  I sliced the pigs sausages in half length wise and wrapped in strips of crescent dough.  It made a cool pattern and that made me happy.  Then I made a compote of gala apples, shallots, ginger, apple cider vinegar, apple cider (not vinegar), and raisins.  I think I could have eaten that all by itself.  Quick and easy supper that I need to perfect the presentation of but tasted delicious none the less.  Hunni actually ate compote first but saved his raisins for last.  Silly boy.

 

Not to leave Leo and Peanut in a lurch while we enjoyed breakfast in bed I gave them a treat of their own.  They love those little smokies snausages for a treat so they each got one.  Peanut happily ate it on the bed but Leo ran and hid under the bed.  Maybe he thought Hunni wouldn’t have enough with his meal and would steal his little snausage.  Poor baby because Hunni probably would have teased him too.

I must say one thing though about our dogs.  They are some of the best behaved dogs ever.  They just sat on the bed while we ate and ate.  They didn’t even try to get the food off the plate.  Leo stared and sniffed at the food but Peanut just stared at Leo like “You’ll never get any boy…stop trying.”

He just sat there sniffing.

She was giving Leo the stink eye.

 

I love that I can leave my snacks sitting on the arm of the couch and they don’t touch it.  But if you tease them with it then they might try.  Peanut actually stole popcorn from one of our Bible Study members because he just held it in front of her nose while he chatted.  She had a smug satisfaction as she chomped on it.  But I digress.

 

After our lovely meal the family just chilled in bed while I loaded the dishwasher. How nice for them.  But I did get to take some cute pics.

Just chilling.

It was the least I could do for Hunni since I can’t really do his job and he’s dead tired…well not dead but close to it.  In fact he’s back in bed now early and I just walked the puppers for him.  I’m enjoying my snack which is a nice treat of fancified PB and J  actually Crunchy Raw Almond Butter and TJ’s Cranberry Apple Butter and another cup of that addictive Candy Cane Green Tea.  I think I had 4 or 5 cups today.  Good thing its decaf.

Sophisticated AB and J on mini pitas!

For me I enjoyed making food fun tonight with both the breakfast foods and the snack.  I can’t eat the same boring food over and over.  Every time I would do the grilled chicken with brown rice and veggie diet I would get annoyed and stop eating so I could have some cookies.  Now that I change it up and enjoy playing with with food choices I find it so much easier to stay on track.  I have fun eating different things so we rarely have the same meals twice unless it is a super duper favorite!

 

Do you eat the same kinds of things?  Do you ever do fun stuff for your Significant Other?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 18/11/2009 3:13 PM

    aw, how fun! i love the mini ab & js 🙂

    • 18/11/2009 4:10 PM

      They were yummy. In fact I’m going to go have some more for my afternoon snack 🙂

  2. 18/11/2009 3:36 PM

    What a nice wife you are! I am sure he appreciated it!

    My husband makes the best omelets, but I only eat them on occassion – turns out he puts about TWO cups of cheese in them! “D

  3. 18/11/2009 10:53 PM

    what a husband, one who allows the pooches in bed. lucky u. we are on our own. simon, seth, kerouac. see us at
    http://www.calorey.blogspot.com The Writing Gourmet

    i too love coffee in bed in the a.m. trying to train the boys to retrieve my breakfast. right now it’s the other way around.

    • 18/11/2009 11:44 PM

      Yeah I wish Hunni would make me Breakfast in bed sometime. But he did make me lunch today 🙂

Leave a Reply

