Skip to content

Kinda Vegan Day

17/11/2009

Yesterday I let you peek in at what I’m challenging myself to do this week. It was really the push I needed to get at it today instead of blowing it off like I have a tendency to do. So I present to you my Kinda Vegan Day :-)


First off I did not sleep well last night. I’ve been battling insomnia and it’s been winning. My psychiatrist is adjusting my meds and I’ll be seeing him again tomorrow. But I can say I got a lot of work done between 12.30am and 4am. Some people veg to infomercials and crappy TV when they can’t sleep…I work. Kind of sad that I was almost more productive in the wee hours of the morning than I am sometimes in my office. I might be a vampire or something that only comes out at night. I’ve never seen/read Twilight but perhaps Edward and I are related.

Showing off my fangs πŸ™‚

I swore on twitter that if I was still up at 4.30 when the gym opened I was going to go and run until I was tired. I guess I scared my body because I was asleep at 4.20 πŸ™‚

 

I woke up at 7.30 just in time to put together dinner and get to work. So I guess the AM workout didn’t happen. I was dreaming I was running so that has to count for something right. I was going to have to squeeze it in later.

 

In honor of Vegan Week I was making my Dump-it-all-inΒ  Crockpot chili. Hunni and I love this dish and eat it often so we were just lucky that it happens to be vegan as well πŸ™‚ I call it Dump-it-all-in Chili because I make it so often I don’t even measure any more…I just dump in the stuff I know I need and hope it turns out.

Don't forget the chili powder like I did for the pic πŸ™‚

2- 15oz cans kidney beans rinsed

10 oz tomato sauce

1.5 cups salsa

1 tsp chili powder

1 medium diced onion

1 bag corn (I use Trader Joe’s Roasted corn for flavor)

 

 

 

Rinse the beans…

They bubble when you rinse the...strange.

Add to crock pot with tomato sauce, salsa, and chili powder.

Dice onion with your handy-dandy chopper and add on top of mixture but do not stir.

Hunni's favorite kitchen gadget.

Top with corn and still do not stir.

Cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 3-4 hours. NOW Stir and dish.

All stirred up!

Typically I add some greek yogurt for the creaminess but I remembered I was trying to keep it vegan so I topped it with some Trader Joe’s Corn Relish.

Corny!

It was spicy but yummy. That relish has a kick. I think I burned my tongue from the spice because I was excited and added a bit too much relish. Who needs tastes buds right?

 

Hunni was not keen on the spice so he added cheese to his.

Definitely not vegan...but tasty.

VEGAN FAIL!


A few weeks ago I posted about my healthy version of Apple Crisp. Then I noticed that Mama Pea makes a version all the time. I had to one up her so I added some TJ’s Raw Crunchy Almond Butter for icing πŸ™‚

Ala Mama Pea with a kick πŸ™‚


BEST IDEA EVER! I got my yummy Microwave Apple Crisp then some protein from my nut butter.

 

I took 2 tiny gala apples and diced them.

Tossed in some Cinnamon and microwaved for 2 minutes.

Then I topped it with 1/4 cup Whole Foods Pumpkin Spiced Granola (I could eat this by itself and do often) and 1 tbsp of almond butter till it was all melty.

 

OMG! Can you say divine. I can’t believe I never thought to add the almond butter before. I’m glad I took my pics first because It wouldn’t have lasted if I had tested a bite first.

I could eat the whole bowl... literally.

 

The rest of my food for the day was the Kinda Vegan part. I had oats with a dash of brown sugar for breakfast since staying up makes me kind of nauseous in the morning…sorry TMI. But it was way better than the instant oats I lived on as a kid. I snacked on a Luna bar from my desk before I ate my arm. That would have been an even bigger VEGAN FAIL πŸ˜€ Lunch was going to be this awesome salad from my new favorite coffee shop downtown but we got super busy and I ended up with Subway instead.

 

Overall I did okay with my Kinda Vegan Day. I only actually had one non-vegan meal today. Perhaps this would be easier than I thought…but it did require some extra thought. I ended up eating about 1/2 cup of Chipotle Hummus with baby carrots for lack of imagination for another Vegan Snack. But it was yummy and fiberific.

 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

As for my Whittle Your Middle challenge I think my abs are killing me. But its one of those awesome feelings that I know I’m working it… hopefully my abs will agree someday soon πŸ™‚

 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And since I kind of opted out of my own challenge this morning due to lack of sleep I had to kick it into gear later. I took the puppers for a walk to the post office and bank for errands and then back home. It was a nice brisk day so we all enjoyed it. They got in lots of new sniffs.

 

And since our dinner was already chugging away in the pot I could get an afternoon workout in. I love FitTV and today was Boot camp with Kendall. My shoulders are sore now and it got me some extra Middle Whittling time in.

 

I didn’t expect that I was strong when this happened….

I'm stronger than I thought.

During my jumping jacks I heard it crash. Peanut and Leo were none to thrilled a the noise. But Peanut felt better when I did the floor work and she attacked my face with her tongue. Ew doggie spit.

Finally momma πŸ™‚

Now I’m just chilling on the couch with my snuggie and a cup of this wonderful tea…

I've had a cup or 3.

and some Bravo TV until I get tired. I’m hoping that’s sooner than later. But I’ll take what I can get as long as it’s not the sunrise.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Mish permalink
    17/11/2009 11:15 AM

    you did great. I am so proud of you. thank you for supporting this. I wish I had a dog

    • 18/11/2009 12:17 AM

      Dogs are great companions…you should get one if you can πŸ™‚

  2. 17/11/2009 6:41 PM

    Good job! A kinda vegan day is closer to a vegan day than I can get!

    • 18/11/2009 12:17 AM

      I realized that even today I don’t really eat a ton of dairy because of my stomach. The meat is the problem. But thanks for the compliment πŸ™‚

  3. 20/11/2010 9:35 PM

    I love cooking in the slow cooker. I have a bunch of vegan slow cooker recipes on my site if you’re interested. I’m not sure I could throw together anything on as little sleep as you though. You deserve a metal!

Trackbacks

  1. Harry Potter Fun and Goals « It All Changes
  2. Behind + Goals « It All Changes
  3. Food Stasher Extraordinaire | It All Changes
  4. Potato & Pea Coconut Curry | It All Changes
  5. Jacket Potatoes « It All Changes
  6. You Can Make This : Dried Beans « It All Changes
  7. Is That A Cabbage Patch–Recipe « It All Changes
  8. The Kitchen is Open « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

