Skip to content

Are You Up for the Challenge?

16/11/2009

I’ve become kind of stagnant in my Weight Loss efforts. I am still actively losing weight for at least another few pounds until I hit my Weight Watchers goal. But lately I’ve let things get in the way of challenging myself. I have kind of gotten used to this is my life and this is how I do things. I am a healthy eater and exerciser so it is just who I am to go to the gym and to eat more fruits and veggies than snackies and treats. Heck I even went to a concert last night and only had a Diet Pepsi (bleck… it was all they had) because all the fried food just did not sound appealing at all. It might have been that I was still getting over the flu bug but I don’t eat that stuff normally so why would I do so at a concert.

However I did enjoy the concert. We took 2 teens and three adults to the concert and met up with a few friends of ours.

Hunni and I concert
Cheesy self-portrait.
concert 002

Happy Teens!

It was a blast to introduce them to Christian Rock that doesn’t have to be full of shaking your @ss and who is the ho’. It was nice to just enjoy some awesome tunes that reminded me of my youth but were also so relevent for them today.
concert 014

The stubs I saved to use for a display.

I can’t help but mention this one bad who was there that I’m definitely not hip or young enough to understand. The music was okay but the performance was hilarious. I don’t understand how white stretch pants, baseball catcher’s knee pad, a soccer jersey, a pompom hat and a wrestling belt make good fashion but perhaps I missed that episode of What Not to Wear. Call me Stacey and Clinton and let me know if I’m way off the mark πŸ™‚

 

concert 005

Sorry for the fuzy pic but you get the idea.

concert 007

Brittany took these pics.

 

But the teens loved it and that’s all that mattered. My job rocks literally. I get to go to Rock Concerts with people for work and enjoy every second of it. Last night couldn’t have been any better.

 

Anyways other than doing the same old same old I’m kind of boring. I’m kind of and old fuddy duddy who likes to pretend she’s all hip and cool with the new things. Sure I’ve picked some new races and learned some cool new moves at PT but I’m still just doing the same workouts.

 

Enter the blog world. I love you all so much because you all think of things I would never even try. I’m just not brave enough to think these things up so instead I join you all in your challenges and bloggity blog fun. I love your imaginations.

 

Angela over at Oh She Glows started the Whittle Your Middle Challenge a few days ago. I thought it would be interesting to do since I kind of have a middle I want to whittle. And I haven’t been good at doing my back exercises since injuring my hip…not like my hip has anything to do with my middle but it was a good excuse at the time πŸ™‚ So now I’m back at it..Haha get it πŸ™‚ I’ve been setting my new favorite toy, online stopwatch, for 10 minutes and busting out some hard-core (pun not intended but still funny punny) ab workouts. I feel like my abs are on fire but I love that I can do them at home in my living room with Peanut and Leo trying to lick my face. It keeps me moving instead of giving up. They can’t catch me if I’m doing crunches or moving to the next exercise. They are like big German Trainers those two.

concert 001

I took this while doing my abs πŸ™‚

Leo naked

Tongue at the ready πŸ™‚

 

And Mish and Katy over at Eating Journey and Silly Tater Tot are going Vegan 4 a Week. I’m intrigued by the vegan diet and the supposed benefits. I love myself a good chicken egg or breast occasionally and I love fish in many varieties. But after Food Inc. I’m not to keen on how it’s raised and thus I have become semi-veggie. I still enjoy the occasional piece of meat but I’m more likely to eat eggs or beans than meat. But I’m not up to a complete vegan week just yet. I want to give it a go for one complete day so I’m doing it on 19 November and being Vegan 4 the Day. I’m going to throw in a few other vegan meals throughout the week but that day Hunni is going to hate me because there is only going to be produce and grains…that is if he finds out πŸ™‚ My favorite crock pot chili recipe is vegan and Hunni begs for it at least every other week. What the boy doesn’t know doesn’t hurt him. That’s how I got him to eat healthy and lose about 80 pounds…I just fed him healthy stuff and told him it was loaded with bad stuff πŸ˜€

 

And finally I have a challenge that my friend Erin helped me think of just for me. This week I’m going to hit the gym/home workouts in the morning. I loved the way I felt when working out in the morning in July when my cousins were here but I get sucked into the vortex that is my pillows and comforter in the morning. But now that Salvation Army Red Kettles have started I don’t have a vehicle at my disposal at night. Hunni is busy running around town checking on kettle workers and picking up kettles at the end of the night before we have to count them all for deposit in the morning. So if I don’t workout in the morning I’m really not going to be able to get a workout in. And no workouts makes Cynthia a very restless and annoying person. Last year this year I was still recovering from back surgery and had PT twice a week and exercises to do in between so I was motivated to do it on my own. This year I need to challenge myself. So now my dear Hunni has permission to drag the covers off of me and force me out of the bedroom. I expect there to be some cold mornings (we keep the house set at 65 degrees) and some locked bedroom doors if I don’t get out of bed on my own. But I need the push to do so or I won’t get any activity in and I’ll be mad at myself later.

 

So check in with me and see how I’m doing. My abs are aching for me to stretch them out and do some yoga. My vegan meals and day should be interesting and I hopefully will remember to take some pics for you to share. And I’ll be a hot sweaty mess each morning by the time my posts…uh post. Check with me and keep me accountable. I need to be reminded occasionally of all the goals I set for myself. And I apologize for my punny attitude tonight. I think Hunni rubbed off on me because he is full of them all the time.

 

What are you challenging yourself to this week? Do you participate in blog challenges?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mish permalink
    16/11/2009 8:18 AM

    I am excited to see what you cook up πŸ™‚

    • 16/11/2009 9:31 AM

      I’ve got my vegan chili in the crock pot right now and I remember to take pics πŸ™‚

  2. Brandi permalink
    16/11/2009 9:36 AM

    i can’t wait to see the vegan meals you make!

    I’ve been thinking of doing the ab challenge, but then I remember I hate doing ab work πŸ™‚ I may do it.

    I need to figure out what workouts will work for the winter. It’s too dark/cold in the mornings AND after work to run, and we don’t belong to a gym because there aren’t any near our house and they’re all so expensive.

    • 16/11/2009 11:57 AM

      I hear you on the ab workouts. I hate them too but I know they are vital to my back strength.

  3. 16/11/2009 1:22 PM

    Congrats on the effort for being more healthy! I have found that I am loving tofu lately and should write up this really easy recipe that I use. I swear I feel like I have eliminated chicken with tofu!

    • 16/11/2009 11:57 PM

      I only like tofu from this one restaurant in town. They marinade it then grill it. Every other place I’ve had it tastes like sponge.

Trackbacks

  1. Kinda Vegan Day « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

