Skip to content

I’m gonna do it!

10/11/2009

Remember my desire to run the Tufts 10K this October? I was training and doing well before I got dumb overzealous and increased my mileage and speed at the same time and ended up with Tendinitis in my hip. Hence the reason I’m in PT with Boot camp Steve. But I’m doing well and enjoying the short runs I’m allowed to do. When this elephant gets off my chest cough/flu disappears I’ll be back at the gym running my 5.0 on the Treadmill and maybe getting one more trail run before it gets super-duper cold.

Then I got thinking…the times that I train best is when I have a challenge before me. I know I’ve said this before but I didn’t really follow through on registering for a race. I thought about it but blew it off when I… ugh… forgot. A friend of mine reminded me to go back and look at old blogs and I noticed my personal challenge to pick another race to run and hung my head in shame. What good is it for me to put all this out in the blogosphere if I’m not going to follow my own advice. For now PT and getting back to running is my challenge but that is quickly not becoming a challenge. I can run almost 15 minutes again without a problem…okay I’m sore but that’s nothing ice and stretching doesn’t fix. It is definitely not the pain I felt before. That means I’m quickly going to need a new challenge or I’m not going to be as motivated.

I guess I need a carrot in front of me

horse carrot

Yummy veggies πŸ™‚

 

or a rabbit to chase.

greyhuahua

Does this guy look like he's chase a rabbit....aww πŸ™‚

 

So enter my evening of fun. I’ve spent the evening on Active and Runner’s World searching for a race I could really run. I kind of have some limitations on race options living in Timbuktu The Berkshires…kind of far away from longer races and the whole pastor thing makes Sunday races kind of hard since I can’t exactly leave Hunni by himself to go running. But God was good and I found a race in Hartford for April at the 10K distance. I can focus on that distance and then time over the next several months. Even if I get behind in training because of Kettles I will be peachy for April. I found a race on April Fools Day that Hunni said I should run so he could yell “Run Fool Run” as I approached the finish line. I don’t know if that would motivate me so much as want to chase him to the van. But that was a bit farther away and somehow the federal government doesn’t recognize that wonderful day as Federal Holiday so we really can’t close our office. Thus the fall back is the 3 April race in Hartford. But we will have some fun out that way catching up with old friends as long as I’m not passed out on the back seat after the race.

Then I wanted one more challenge. I was so jealous motivated by all the half marathons of the lovely bloggers this fall. So I’m going to use my more relaxed summer to train for a Half Marathon. And I think I picked an awesome one. Are you ready for it….

philly half

I'll be Rocking and Rolling!

 

Yep the Philadelphia Rock -n- Roll Half Marathon 2010. Looks so strange to write 20-10 but I’m super excited. Momma lives down that way so I’m going to make a weekend out of it. I’ve never run a big race and I’m kind of scared that they say you line up in corrals. Makes me think of cattle but I guess that’s what those huge races look like when all the runners go at once. I do like the idea about having music along the way to keep it interesting. I tend to listen to the same music when I run because I’m too lazy to update my iPod so it will be nice to have other music to listen to. I just hope it’s not something off that wall that makes me want to stick my fingers in my ears. I guess that could be an arm/shoulder workout???

But even more exciting than running a Half Marathon in Philly with an awesome course (it starts and ends near the Art Museum…yeah with the Rocky steps) is the expo the days before. I have to go and pick up my race packet anyway but the speakers/clinics are amazing. It sealed the deal for me when I saw the John Bingham was leading a seminar and on a panel during the expo. I started reading Runner’s World when I was just thinking about taking up running and absolutely adore John Bingham aka The Penguin. He’s my kind of runner.

bingham

Running for Mortals

 

If you don’t know anything about him he basically went from a sedentary life-style to now having run over 25 marathons. He and his column in Runner’s World is an anthem for those of us who will never be fast runners but just run for the pure enjoyment. I can’t wait to hear from the guy who’s column I turn to first in every issue of Runner’s World. He’s giving the same talk on both Friday and Saturday before the race on Sunday (yeah I’m running a Sunday race…remember I said I’m making a weekend out of it). I think I would go hear him both days if that wouldn’t be kind of weird and creepy.

So there you have it. I’ve put it out there that I’m running these two races. I haven’t paid for them yet because payday isn’t until Thursday and I’m a poor pastor but I’m doing them. They are on my Google Calendar and I told Hunni I’m doing them. And now I’ve told you all my lovely readers. So kick my butt if you don’t hear me mention the 10K training after I’m done with PT. I work well when I’m kicked in the arse so feel free.

What fitness goal do you need to push yourself to achieve? What are you going to do today to achieve it?

BTW thanks to Erin and Meg who have been my personal butt kicking duo today. Erin reminded me to look back at my old posts and Meg is being my trainer from the lovely Windy City. You ladies are awesome πŸ™‚

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/11/2009 10:43 AM

    I think I need goals like that, too. I ended up not registering for my half this month because with this weekend travel and some other things, I just knew I wouldn’t be able to really train for it. BUT – there will always be other races πŸ™‚

  2. Erin permalink
    10/11/2009 11:52 AM

    YAY! I’m so happy for you, what a great incentive to refocus on your training. I know you’ll rock both runs !

  3. Emily permalink
    10/11/2009 1:14 PM

    Let me know when the Hartford 10K is closer to the date! If I’m not in labor I’ll try and come cheer you on… I might even have a teeny one to come with me πŸ™‚

  4. Mish permalink
    10/11/2009 9:52 PM

    I have a tri set-up for february of next year. I am struggling right now. However, this reminds me that I have a 5km race in about 2 weeks that I want to get under 30 minutes for..so I need to get running. Thank you for this post πŸ™‚

    • 10/11/2009 10:14 PM

      Not a problem. Your posts about your tris actually reminded me to find races. I wanted to enjoy racing season this fall but I’m looking forward to starting the spring with a nice race.

Trackbacks

  1. From 2009 to 2010 « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

