Skip to content

Is there a Doctor in the House?

04/11/2009

For me healthy started out as a fear thing.  I was afraid that I was going not be able to get into seminary because of my physical.  I was afraid I was going to end up with heart disease like my dad.  I was afraid I was going to get too big to shop in the only store I could shop in.  I was just generally afraid.  Okay enough of the doom and gloom.  I’m sure you don’t come here to read the horror story.  Halloween is over after all.

Now to the thoughts for the day.  My friends on Weight Watchers posed a little challenge this week.  Take the opportunity to schedule doctor’s appointments you have been putting off.  Uh yeah…I have been putting off doctor’s appointments for a while unless I’m sick.  I am supposed to get annual skin cancer screenings since I had a scare a few years back but I haven’t found a new dermatologist since moving here over a year ago.  I don’t want to put it off so long that I start getting worried again like I did during the time I had to wait for the first visit and test results.

And I need to see my OB/GYN but I keep putting it off since I have been super busy.  Seeing Caitlin’s posts lately about her issues she is facing has really made me realize I need to get my butt to the OB.  So that appointment is being scheduled this week.  It might have to make an early morning appointment but I’ll get there because it is important to ensure my overall health.

I did get one thing accomplished today.  Well actually two.  At my last visit to one of my doctors, he ordered blood work for me to test the levels of one of my medications.  I have been putting it off because it had to be done early morning and I don’t like early mornings.  But this morning I got out of bed and went to the lab before I VOTED! 

And here is the photo graphic evidence.

medical 003

My boo boo has a band-aid.

The other reason I hate getting blood work done is because I’ve had some bad sticks before.  I only have one good vein and they can’t always hit it.  Today’s person wasn’t the greatest.  It didn’t hurt a ton but she did leave a bruise.

medical 004

The vampire left its mark... but not Edward.

One other appointment I need to make is for my Primary Care Physician.  For my insurance to keep paying for my gym membership, weight watchers and my trainer I have to get an updated physical by January.  It’s just a routine visit so I keep putting it off figuring I’d get to it when I get the time.  But if you look at my calendar there isn’t a spare…

medical 005

There isn’t much time.  And this calendar doesn’t even show the fact that we have the one van over the next two months it isn’t usually available.  But even routine visits are important.  So I need to call my doc and get in to see her.  I’m sure she’ll enjoy seeing a healthy person since most of her cases now are people afraid of the swine flu…uh H1N1.

So even though I’ve been kicking my butt into gear and getting to the gym more now I need to kick it into gear and schedule some doctor’s appointments to make sure I’m really healthy.  I don’t want to be skinny fat…I want to be fit and healthy.  I want to feel good that my body both inside and out do not resemble the one that caused me so much fear 4 years ago. 

So what doctor’s appointments do you need to schedule?  Can you make an effort to schedule them this week even if they are for a month or two away?  Your body will thank you.

BTW why is this post full of the word BUTTYou’d think I was obsessed or something. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    04/11/2009 4:54 PM

    For the first time in my life I’m up to date on all my doctor’s appointments.

    Wait, that’s not true. I’m overdue for both eye and dental checkups. I’m putting off the dental one though because I’m still gagging from brushing my teeth. Pregnancy does WEIRD things to you.

  2. Mish permalink
    04/11/2009 5:54 PM

    It’s so important to be going to the doctor or a naturopath. I had my girlie exam and nothing came up, but that’s good and I know that. However, I was sharing this with my co-worker-inlight of caitlin’s stuff-and she goes to me ‘Yeah, I had a girlie exam about two years ago and they said that there were abnormal cells, but I ignored it’. I gave her the look of death and demanded that she book an appt. Which she did.

    Yeah, it’s some lookin inside, poking around, squishing this and that…FOR YOUR HEALTH.

    To me, it’s worth it.

    • 05/11/2009 11:27 AM

      Yeah I was supposed to get my ‘girlie exam’ in August but things got crazy. I’m scheduled now for december after all the work craziness.

Leave a Reply

