Skip to content

Sayings to get me though

01/11/2009

I started writing this post last night but decided I wanted to truly enjoy the extra hour so it didn’t make sense to stay up past my normal bed time.  So I hit the hay and enjoyed every second of it!  Sorry friends 🙂

 

Sure this post is going to sound a bit cliche but these phrases really do help me when I go off the deep end and “mess up.”  Really I just maybe over eat one meal and have to remind myself that one meal is not going to make me fat.  But I like that these are in nice little tidbits that are easy to remember.  Thanks to all my Weight Watchers friends for helping make the list.  It was really nice to be reminded of them during a thread the other day on the Message Boards.

So here we go…

  • “Eat food.  Not too much.  Mostly Plants.”  – Michael Pollan, In Defense of Food.  This is huge for me.  I used to eat a ton of meat and carbs and very few veggies.  It was just cheaper to eat rice with cheese and chicken.  Now I have found eating more veggies my tummy feels so much better most of the time and ways to get them at a great price.  Gotta love the frozen section 🙂
  • Do your best and forget the rest.  I can only do my best.  If I try to do someone else’s best I get frustrated.  Learning to accept my best is my best is hard but helps me to not freak out when I don’t like certain veggies or can exercise every day.
  • If you drop one egg don’t throw the other 11 on the floor. (AKA If you get a flat tire don’t slash the other 3.  or If you trip on the stairs don’t throw yourself down the entire flight…or several).  Making one mistake on my Weight Loss Journey doesn’t mean I’ve failed and I should just give up.  This used to be my attitude.  I would slip and eat too much and just go and eat more.  Now I need to get back on track instead of throwing away all the progress I’ve made.
  • If you can’t read it, don’t eat it.   All the chemicals in food bother my stomach.  So if I look at a label and can’t read most of the ingredients I don’t eat it.  I do so much better eating whole foods (not the grocer) and so does my budget.  I still like the occasional snacky thing but most of it is normal foods.
  • One day at a time!  Or one meal or one bite.  Looking at the whole picture was too daunting.  I had about 100 pounds to lose.  Now even so close to maintenance it is so daunting to think that I have to maintain this the rest of my life.  So I take it one day at a time and sometimes just one meal or bit at a time because I know I can handle that.
  • If you always do what you always did you’ll always get what you always got.  If I continue to eat the way that I did before then I’d never be healthy.  If you check My Journey page then you see that I ate cookies and pizza and pasta all for the same meal.  That got me nothing but a bunch of extra weight and unhappiness.  I need to change in order to make changes.  Hence the name of the blog…It all changes.
  • If you kind of work the plan, it kind of works. If you work it, it works.  Only doing things halfway you only get things half done.  So for me when I kind of did eating healthy and exercise, I kind of lost weight and got fit.  So if I actually work the Weight Watchers program and go to the gym then it actually works.  Funny how that is 🙂
  • You didn’t get to be overweight by eating too many green beans.  I would get obsessed with counting the points and calories for everything.  But then I came to the realization that eating an extra apple or some more pineapple isn’t going to make me gain weight back.  I should enjoy the fact that I’m reaching for fruits and veggies instead of cookies and cake.
  • It’s about progress, not perfection.  No body wants to be a perfect eater.  I want to be able to enjoy a treat every now and then.  For me that treat may not be like everyone else’s but I like to know that I can enjoy a sweet tea if I go visit my dad or cake when I go to my friend’s wedding this spring.  Perfection is boring, progress is fun and a since of pride.
  • A gain is not failure, its feedback.  The scale does not control me.  If I gain one week then I can go back and look at what caused it instead of beating myself up for failing.  I am not a failure because I have done so much and I will keep moving forward even if I gain one week.
  • I’m more important than what is on my plate.  Food will not control me.  It is one thing in my life.  I am a friend, wife, pastor, child of God and I am important to many people.  The food I put on my plate or in my mouth does not change any of that.

And my favorite of all time…

  • Being overweight is hard.  Losing weight is hard.  Maintaining your weight is hard.  Choose your hard.  – Ren  First let me say that Ren is such an inspiration to me because of how much she has accomplished with Weight Watchers and that she has the most beautiful little girl who is the joy of her life.  But this phase she put together really speaks to me.  Nothing about weight is easy.  For me it was awful being at the weight I was at.  I couldn’t fit into many clothes and the ones I had kept getting tighter.  I had a hard time going up the stairs to my apartment and my classroom.  I was unhealthy and I knew it.    Losing the weight hasn’t been easy.  Having to think about what I buy at the grocery or order in a restaurant isn’t easy and requires work.  It is hard to lose weight and have to actually work at it.  But maintaining my new weight isn’t going to be easy either.  I’m going to have to keep eating healthy and getting exercise and maintain balance.  For me it was all about choices.  I had chosen to be overweight by my actions.  I need to choose to make new choices to lose the weight (and I did).  And I will need to make good choices to maintain my weight.  It will be hard but it is a choice for me.

 

I hope these help you.  For me I need to be reminded that this Weight Loss has truly been a journey.  It is a journey that I love and I will keep making the changes I need to move forward. 

 

What phrases to you like to help you keep on your healthy track?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 02/11/2009 10:44 AM

    I love that list. All very true!

Leave a Reply

