Skip to content

Puddin pie

30/10/2009

The other day I posted about my cool find of Kabocha squash at my local grocer. 

 

bargain hunter 001

I hit the mother load.

 

I had seen other bloggers roast it but I wanted to try something different.  I’m not a big fan of cutting up raw squash because I have little to no upper body strength.  I need to hit the weights more I guess.  So I decided to steam the thing whole and then make it into a pudding.  I posted on Twitter about my pudding and never posted the recipe.  Today I made some more (not s’mores…darn) and decided it would be a good blog post because it is just that yummy.

 

Heather posted that these cute babies can be baked whole and they steam themselves.  I was intrigued and so into the oven she went (sans the sticker).

 

Ready to meet the heat.

Blissfully unaware it is about to enter the sauna.

Set it for 400 degrees and let it cook away for an hour while I watched Code Blue on the Discovery Health Channel.  Don’t know why but I’m fascinated by the medical profession even though I could never do it.

 

I love my digital stove!

So much easier to cook with digital.

When it was done I let it chill in the pan for a while…

 

Love the neon color it turns after baking.

I love the neon colors it turns when baked.

 and then sliced it in half and emptied the seeds.  So simple with a spoon.

 

Cleaning out the seeds.

Gooey insides be gone.

Then I kind of forgot to take a picture of the next step.  I was doing so well but you’ll have to use your imagination for this.  Into my brand spanking new blender went:

 

  • Entire steamed Kabocha
  • 1 tbsp Agave Nectar
  • 2 tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Ground Nutmeg
  • 1 cup Almond Milk

Then buzz, buzz, buzz went the blender. 

 

Look at the bubble like the tar pit from the blending.

It kind of looks like the tar pits (not black but bubbly)

It turned into a nice pudding texture.  Then I stuck it in the fridge to chill.

 

My new blender earning its keep.

My new blender earning its keep.

I got to use my fancy ramekin that I’ve never actually baked in for my serving. 

 

Gotta love my home made potholder.

Gotta love my home made pot holder.

My attempt at being a food blogger...to bad the coffee pot is in focus and the pudding is not.

My food blogger attempt but the coffee maker is in focus not the pudding 😛

In fact I had two because it looked so sad and empty after only one.

 

It looked so lonely and empty on my knee so I refilled it :-)

I almost licked the bowl.

So good and pudding-ish.  It was kind of like pumpkin pudding pie filling stuff.  But so good and I will have to convince myself to make something else with the third one I have or go buy more.  I think I’ll buy more 😀

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 30/10/2009 8:51 AM

    Yum. I didn’t know you could steam a squash. I’ll have to try that.

    • 30/10/2009 9:00 AM

      I don’t know if it works for others but it worked for the Kabocha. You might try googling to see if it works for the others.

Trackbacks

  1. Vacuuming + Goals « It All Changes
  2. Coconut Lime Acorn Squash « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

