Skip to content

Healthifying

23/10/2009

Let me just start by saying I’m blown away with how many people stopped by yesterday to see my Exposed post.  I thought my little blog wouldn’t get that much traffic and I’m stunned when I look at my stats for yesterday.  But like Mish says…It really is just so freeing to love my body and love what it does for me.  Roni is right…This is a movement…come on and join us!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

On thing I’m passionate about is food.  I mean come on, you don’t really get to be as heavy as I was without a passion for food.  I’m not super creative like Jenna or Kath but I do love food.  And my passion is really taking stuff I love and making it healthier but still yummy.  I like feeling like I’m still eating all the good stuff even if it is actually healthy.  Who doesn’t love good food, right?

 

First let me apologize for my lack of pictures.  I’m not a food blogger and never think to take pictures of yummy stuff until after its in my tummy 🙂

My most recent creation was yesterday while trying to get some fruit in but not wanting my same old apple with cinnamon.  I remembered seeing that Brandi microwaved an apple with cinnamon for a pancake topping.  BING!! The lightbulb in my head went off and

  • I diced up a gala apple
  • some cinnamon
  • a dash of brown sugar
  • a small spoonful of crunchy raw almond butter from TJ’s. 

I microwaved it for 2.5 mintues and then added some Bare Naked Vanilla Almond Granola.  OMG!!! I inhaled it so fast that this is the only picture I have…

I wanted to lick the bowl.

I wanted to lick the bowl.

It tasted just like apple crisp.  Warm and gooey yet with a nice crunch top and just enough creamyness from the Almond butter.  I will be making this again…in fact I had this thrice (yep I ate it three times).  I’m getting over the flu and it sounded yummy over and over 🙂

 

I also like to make my vegan chili in the crockpot almost twice a month.  I just throw in

  • 2 cans rinsed kidney beans
  • 16 oz canned tomato sauce
  • 1 cup medium salsa
  • nice dash of chili powder
  • diced onion on top
  • TJ’s roasted corn on top

I cook it on low all day and when it is done stir.  I technically un-veganify it when I add a nice dollop of greek yogurt on top and stir in.  But it is yummy!  And it’s easy so we make it when we know we will have no time to cook.  Even Hunni can throw this together in a pinch for us.

 

One other thing I like to healthify  is foods for others when I take it to a party.  Actually at Easter I was in charge of making the breakfast for after our SONrise service.  Hunni got the bright idea to take them up on the mountain side and it snowed.  So they were all cold when they got back.  Good thing I had two breakfast casseroles in the oven warming up. 

 

I found the recipe in the coupons the week before Easter.  It was for Johnsonville sausages.  I just looked at it and subbed in healthier stuff.  I traded the whole eggs for half and the rest egg whites.  I used half the cheese.  I used turkey sausage instead of pork.  I subbed in skim milk instead of whole.  And I used whole wheat english muffins instead of standard white.  It turned out so good that it was devoured before I got to take pictures of it back then.  But trust me it was good and everyone had more than one piece (although that might not be as healthy a habit).

 

So think of ways you can change-up your recipes to still enjoy them but make them healthier.

  • Change eggs for part eggs and egg whites.
  • Use applesauce instead of oil.
  • Use half the amount of cheese  (especially if it is high quality).
  • Use lower fat dairy products.
  • Use alternative sweetening ingredients such as fruit or honey.

The list goes on and on but these are some of my favorites.

 

How do you healthify your recipes?  Do others know when you do?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 23/10/2009 3:16 PM

    ha, I love the empty bowl picture 🙂

Leave a Reply

