Skip to content

Can I take your order?

14/10/2009
My Wendy's didn't have calorie counts...not like that would have deterred me.

My Wendy's didn't have calorie counts...not like that would have deterred me.

“A number 6 with a large fry and a Sprite and a Jr. Frosty.”   That used to be my typical order at Wendy’s.  Simple and straight forward and full of fat and calories.  But it was easy and quick.  I could run in and grab it on my way to my next thing to do.

 

Now my orders for food are much more complicated.  Hunni hates having to go order and pick up food for me because it is so complicated.  He can’t even get my coffee order right at Starbucks.  Poor guy… I guess a Tall Decaf Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte is kind of long and crazy.  Not like a normal coffee with cream and sugar.  He makes me write down anything I want…even my sub order at Subway.

 

I’m sure I’m not the waiter’s most favorite person when we go out to eat.  I am always asking for substitutions or for things to be left off or on the side.  Picture the way Meg Ryan ordered in “When Harry Met Sally” and you’ve pretty much got me.  Maybe not as annoying though.  I know what I want and don’t give the waiter options.  I know how I want my food and I ask for it that way.

 

I used to be afraid to ask for food the way I wanted it.  I believed all those scenes in movies where waitresses spit in picky customer’s food.  I thought that I just couldn’t eat out.  Or that I had to only eat salad.  Or that I would be strong enough to not eat the home fries on the plate with my omelette or the fries with my sandwich… Yeah like that ever happened. I scarfed it all down and I ate out the same as I did before. 

 

Then one day I realized that I needed to be assertive in what I needed.  Sure I could assert myself at home with only buying what I wanted to eat.  But in a restaurant I took it one step at a time.  I love to eat breakfast at diners so first it was asking for no home fries… Then it was dry toast… and then egg whites with veggies and only half the cheese.  And surprisingly to me it tasted awesome, I felt empowered, and I enjoyed eating out more than before.

 

I may not be the waiter’s best friend when I order but I am sure to be very polite when I ask for the changes and thank them afterward.  It makes my eating out more pleasurable when I’m in control of what I eat. 

 

How do you order your food?  Do you make lots of changes?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/10/2009 3:19 PM

    You know what you want and that’s how it should be! I’m the same way.

    • 15/10/2009 4:33 PM

      That’s how I look at it now. If I’m paying for it I should have it the way I want to 🙂 Thanks for the comment.

  2. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now permalink
    15/10/2009 8:21 PM

    That is a good point. I do ask for changes, but I would never send something back… lol!

    • 16/10/2009 7:40 AM

      It took lots of courage to get to the point I could send something back. And honestly it still takes me some guts to do so. But I know I need to.

Leave a Reply

