Skip to content

Back in the Saddle

13/10/2009

Yesterday was a Holiday!  Strange because I was talking to friends in other parts of the country and it wasn’t for them.  I’m just glad it was for me because I needed a break.  I was able to get in some rest…if you call 8.30 sleeping in, enjoy a leisurely breakfast…

Hunni Brulee'd it a bit too much.  But it was yummy!

Hunni Brulee'd it a bit too much. But it was yummy!

Blog of course and some LOST episodes.  A few phone calls and then lunch with one of my best friends.

Aren't we gorgeous :-)

Aren't we gorgeous 🙂

I miss her a lot and once the bad weather hits its hard to get to see her because I literally have to “climb every mountain” to see her.  Oh the joys of living in the valley of the Berkshires.  We had a great lunch at Panera…one of my faves 🙂

 

While I enjoyed a leisurely day so did Leo..

Lazy vacation day.

Lazy vacation day.

Peanut wanted to get back in our bed (they both sleep with us) but she wasn’t allowed so she gave me this look….

Momma can I go to bed?

Momma can I go to bed?

Then she went to give Hunni the same look while he was cleaning the bathroom…Hey he volunteered 🙂

He wanted to do clean it.  Just didn't expect the picture.

He wanted to do clean it. Just didn't expect the picture.

Daddy can I please go to bed?

Daddy can I please go to bed?

I finally got it into my head that I needed to get back to the gym.  I’ve been using my hip as an excuse for far to long.  First I thought it would only be a week with no exercise per the doctor.  Then it turned into two and then three.  Now I’m in PT but I was told that would take 6 weeks.  There is no way I’m not getting in exercise for another 6 weeks.  I already feel like my back is getting weaker and my physical fitness is lacking.  And adding up the amount of exercise I got in the last month and finding out it was less than I would normally get in one week was eye opening…and not in a happy way.

 

So I got dressed and hit the gym.

Ready to get back to the gym!

Ready to get back to the gym!

I got in 30 minutes of walking while watching some interesting stuff on CNN about vegetarianism.  Let’s just say Anthony Bourdain was as awesome as ever and made me laugh.  I don’t know why they asked him to be a guest on a show about vegetarians…the man eats meat everyday in many different countries.  He even said he loves the smell of cooking meat.  LOL got to love his audacity.

 

So I got in 30 minutes but was happy with that.  I thought about pushing past the 30 minutes but then my hip reminded me that 30 was good enough if I wanted to walk again today.  So I got off the treadmill and headed home. 

 

Once home I had to get in my PT stretches for my hips and IT bands.  I started to stretch them out.

This is really a comfortable position.

This is really a comfortable position.

Then a little of this…

Streeeeetch....

Streeeeetch....

and a little of that…

And the other way

And the other way

But since I was laying on the floor Leo thought I was there to pet him.

You want to pet me because I'm so cute.

You want to pet me because I'm so cute.

And Peanut and Hunni just laid on the couch watching the wrestling you saw in the background of the picture above. 

This is what they thought of my exercise.

This is what they thought of my exercise.

Actually Hunni was nice enough to take my picture first.

They all laughed at me as I made this face while my IT bands stretched. 

Hurts so good!

Hurts so good!

Such it is.  It didn’t hurt but more “stretched.”  You know one of those hurts so good feelings.

 

For me it was really important to get back to the gym.  For me the gym actually gives me more energy.  I had to get over myself and my idea that I had to go hard core at the gym…balls-to-the-wall… to get in a good workout.  I had to get over the idea that people were looking at me funny when I walked in after not being there in almost a month.  Or that people would recognize me as one of the runners who was now walking.  I had to just get over myself.  People are at the gym  to work on themselves and I needed to get my butt back there to feel better about myself.

 

So I’m back in the saddle.  I’m not at a full gallop but I really enjoyed the nice ride while I build back up to it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. coffee365 permalink
    13/10/2009 12:37 PM

    Way to go! I have been slacking for the past 3 days and I lack all of my energy. I’ll be at it again by this afternoon. I love Panera too.

    • 13/10/2009 1:00 PM

      Good for getting back so quick. I wish I had doen this sooner. I feel great today!

Leave a Reply

