Skip to content

Hairy Situation

07/10/2009

My hair is long…

Curly hair and all.

Curly hair and all.

well not long by most people’s standards but definitely long for me.  I can pull it up in a ponytail everyday and kind of have to for work to be “regulation” for my uniform. 

Everyday me (not the most flattering pic)

Everyday me (not the most flattering pic)

And I’ve kind of gotten lazy and leave it that way everyday almost because it’s easy.  I can just pull it back wet when I get out of the shower and leave it up all day.  I don’t even have to pull it back when I go to the gym because it’s already done.  I don’t even need the pig tails I had been sporting for the gym when it was shorter because one pony tail works.

After my 4th of July run.

After my 4th of July run.

 You see I’ve had short hair since senior year of High School.  I remember someone telling me it would be easier to keep managed in college but also that it would make me look slimmer.  I was a 220+ teenager and looking thinner was a good thing.  So I chopped it all off.  A friend of mine paid for a real stylist to chop my hair…. you know the kind where I got a head massage during the shampoo and a “consultation” on what would look best instead of just pointing to a picture in a book.  It was amazing and my hair looked GRRRRRRRRREAT *said in Tony the Tiger voice*.  🙂  I felt confident going to college.  (unfortunately all my college pics are not digital…booo early 2000’s with no digital camera)

So for the last 10 years I’ve been chopping my hair off when it “gets too long.”  I get a nice cut and then let it grow out for a bit and then chop it off again.  Heck I even chopped it about 6 weeks before my wedding last year because of this mindset and had to rethink my wedding hair because they cut it super short and I was crying.  It turned out okay thanks to a great stylist who did some fancy highlighting and shaping.  I think I looked good on my wedding day.

Me on my wedding day.

Me on my wedding day.

But now I really haven’t gotten a haircut since October of LAST year.  Yeah I know my hair is probably split all the way up and I’m going to have to go bald to fix it all…but I’ve been busy and stuff.  I really have been busy and I kind of wanted to see how long it would get.  First I didn’t get it cut because I was too busy with Christmas Stuff and Rehabing after back surgery.  Then I got crazy busy with writing grants for our new program year.  Then spring hit and everyone was telling me how good my hair looked.  Summer was crazy and I didn’t have time.  And now we are here at fall and I still haven’t gotten a cut. 

Right after last cut.

Right after last cut.

So I have a long shaggy looking cut that is definitely not a style.  It’s more of a what’s leftover from the last time.  I have some leftover blonde highlights at the ends that are from the wedding and don’t look half bad… I think.  And I have layers that have grown out a lot.  If I had to give myself a compliment (which I hate to do) I would say it looks good. 

Here I am at my friend’s wedding this past August. 

Me and one of my Best Friends at her wedding

Me and one of my Best Friends at her wedding

Now comes the Hairy situation.  I need a hair cut.  Not because I want to chop it all off again.  I think I’ve gotten past the it needs to be short to look good.  I look good with longer hair and it frames my face well.  Hunni loves it and everyone tells me how good it looks when I don’t do anything to it except hit it with a blow dryer really quick.  But it needs a cut to be healthy.  I at least need to chop off the split ends and shape it up.

 

Remember my post about being happy with my current weight.  Well I’m hoping that this week I’ll be at my goal thanks to my doctor’s note.  And one of my rewards for hitting goal was to get a really nice hair cut.  I want to go to a real stylist again who will cut and color my hair to perfection and make me feel fabulous.  It is my treat for busting my but these last few years to get healthy and feel good. 

 

Now I need help picking out a style and color.  I’ve been everything from blonde to red to auburn and even a slight brunette. 

Graduation Uniform Pic

Graduation Uniform Pic

Hunni and I soon after moving to our first church.

Hunni and I soon after moving to our first church.

Trying out being a blonde.

Trying out being a blonde.

 

But I’m really fair… Think vampires from Twilight fair.  And I want to keep my length because I like that it makes me feel better about myself.  I feel like I can pull it off.  I know I’m going to lose some length because of damage but I want to be able to pull it back for the gym and work if I have to.

 

I feel good and my hair doesn’t have to be short to make me feel thin.  I’ve worked hard and I’m healthy.  My hair is just a nice crowning on top of the body I’ve worked hard to sculpt.  It’s not perfect but I’m proud of it and I want to look GOOD!

Hit me up with your suggestions of what I should do with my hair.  Please I need your help.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    08/10/2009 8:22 AM

    I think you could do anything! I love all the colors on you, and i love the length now and the length in your wedding picture. you’re one of the lucky ones that can do just about any length 🙂

    I think finding a GOOD stylist will be able to help you decide. They can suggest what cuts will frame your face well with still keeping some length. I can’t wait to see what you do!

    • 08/10/2009 8:38 AM

      Thanks Brandi! I’m going to look for a good stylist soon and ask some friends for recommendations. I proabably will get it cut within the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

