Skip to content

Recalculating…

04/10/2009
Does she just look ready to be annoyed? :-D

Does she just look ready to be annoyed? 😀

I have a GPS that I lovingly call Nuvi (She’s a Garmin Nuvi).  We have her set to british english and she gets ticked at me a lot.  I know several short cuts to get places like the highway so I don’t go her way all the time.  She’s forever saying “RECALCULATING” in that ‘you stupid human listen to me’ voice.  I get almost as annoyed as she does.  I can feel her glaring at me through that little tiny touch screen.  I even changed her voice to German once just to not have to hear the annoyed British voice.  🙂  We used her to go to Boston yesterday for our work event (Which was lovely) but she was not happy with me several times.  LOL Sorry Nuvi.

 

 

Kind of got me thinking of when we have to “recalculate” our Weight Loss and Healthy lifestyle efforts.  It would be so much easier if there weren’t yummy food…parties…holidays…dining out…work…bad weather…illness….I think you get the picture.  If our lives were some pretty little controlled box that only revolved around health and wellness of course it would probably be easier but I don’t want that kind of life.  I like going out ot eat with friends and the holidays with family and the changes in seasons. 

 

So for me that means I need to adjust my efforts.  I can’t plan everyday and expect it to go as planned.  I can’t expect not to make some bad choices along the way, gain some weight, get injured, or want to quit.  In those times I need to recalculate my efforts.  I need to be able to step back, look at the issue and readjust what my next step will be.  It’s a lot easier to try and get back on track if I’m willing to look at what misstep I took and think about how to get back to the right way for my destination…Healthy Living. 

 

I hate that British voice that Nuvi uses to tell me where to go…but you know what, she’s normally right.  She knows how to get me to my destination.  She knows the detours happen and she can get me back on track.  I need to be more like my little annoyed British GPS and know that there are detours on this Journey but I can get back on the path.  I can, I will, and I have before and will again.

 

How do you get back on track when you take “detours”?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    05/10/2009 8:12 AM

    ha, i love this analogy 🙂

    I just try to remember that every day is a new start. No matter what happened the day or week or month before, waking up gives me a new start and new chance to make today a good day.

    • 05/10/2009 8:21 AM

      Thanks Brandi! I’m trying to remember that today. Yesterday was just a bunch of snacking here and there…no real meals and I ended up feeling ick. But today I’m back on track and I’m eating a healthy breakfast 🙂

Leave a Reply

