Skip to content

I’m doing it for ME!

03/10/2009

Busy mornings equal later posts than normal.  It’s only 11.25am and it’s not slowing down.  Church stuff, lunch, checking the T schedule and then driving to Boston for a huge work event tonight.

Even with all this I made an important decision. Weight loss is for me and my health.  Lately I’ve been down about my accomplishments.  I’ve lost 100 pounds but not the magical goal number Weight Watchers sets for my height and age.  I couldn’t see past that number to see what I have accomplished.

I’ve lost 100 pounds for Pete’s sake (who is Pete?)…I’ve cut my body fat way down… I’ve found muscles I didn’t even know existed… and I am in a size I think I skipped growing up.  Why am I letting this fictitious number hold me back from the happiness and pride that I should have.

Lately I’ve seen so many blog posts and magazine articles about being happy with you the way you are.  Today I had an epiphany.  I don’t need to hit some magical number to be happy and successful at my health.  My body has settled at this weight and I don’t want to kill myself  for a weight that may never be attainable for me.

My leader Ann was supportive and complimented me on this decision.  I’m happy here my body seems happy too.  She was nothing but complimentary of all the things I have accomplished.  Now to talk to the doctor about setting a personal goal weight (above WW standards) and work on maintaining.  I feel so free!  No drastic cuts to my already healthy diet or busting my butt (or hurt hip) at the gym to the point that I get injured or worse.  I’m just me. 🙂

In celebration of the new-found me I went to Michael’s after my Weight Watchers meeting.  Being the organizing geek I picked out new menu planning things for my calendar,

Yeah I bought two :-)

Yeah I bought two 🙂

went to the library for books on CD to “read” during several long trips over the next month and hit the gym.  I’d skipped the past week with shame I wasn’t getting a real – read 60 minutes on treadmill or elliptical – workout.  I’d stayed home and watched TV…oh and LOST.  Today I went for 15 minutes on the elliptical until the hip twinge started and then walked on the treadmill for another 20 sans twinge. I feel good!

Now’s time for leftover black bean soup with a dollop of Greek Yogurt…

Love my chair near the only natural light :-)

Love my chair near the only natural light 🙂

Some more greek yogurt with some cheesecake pudding mix and some Whole Food Pumpkin Spiced Granola…

And a bit of love from these two nuts.

Pretty girl!

Pretty girl!

He likes my knee for a pillow :-)

He likes my knee for a pillow 🙂

Time to be extremely happy and me!  😀

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/10/2009 11:50 PM

    Goodness those puppies are precious!!

  2. 05/10/2009 1:10 PM

    What a great story! it is so important to be happy with who you are. Thanks for your thoughts!

  3. 23/02/2011 6:49 PM

    I need to give meal planning a go- those papers are so cute! I think I need to go to Michael’s to get some 🙂

    • 24/02/2011 9:59 AM

      Meal planning is a big help. Even if you just plan things you want for the week but don’t know what days. At least then you’ll know what you have on hand instead of looking in the pantry lost and ordering take out.

  4. 23/02/2011 9:10 PM

    This is great! I kept it open all day so I would remember to comment later when I had time 🙂 I love that you are doing this for YOU and that you feel freedom in that. That is wonderful!!

    • 24/02/2011 10:03 AM

      Thanks Bethany. This was my post last year when I set my goal weight. While I’m not there today after all my health problems I know I can reach that point again instead of becoming frustrated at a goal that is unattainable.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to comment after a long day 🙂

  5. 23/02/2011 10:11 PM

    When I first lost weight (1o yrs ago), I reached a really low weight that I could not maintain. After fighting and struggling, I decided that it just wasn’t worth all the mental energy I was devoting to try to reach that “magic” number again. It was after that that the concept of a “happy weight” started circulating, and I think it is such a healthy response to “ideal” weights based on everything but reality!

    • 24/02/2011 10:01 AM

      So true. The weight range for my stats is attainable but not maintainable. I was there for one day and then settled back into my happy weight. I’d rather enjoy a snack with Hunni and a day off of the gym then overdo it.

  6. 24/02/2011 5:22 AM

    i love your new meal planning tools! they go great with your new approach to your weight and your health! 🙂

    • 24/02/2011 10:00 AM

      Thanks Sarah. This post was from last year. But my approach stays the same and has helped keep my sanity. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Hairy Situation « It All Changes
  2. Setting new Goals « It All Changes
  3. From 2009 to 2010 « It All Changes
  4. Saturday–Rainy Break Day | Daring To Grow

Leave a Reply

