Skip to content

Happy Vegetarian Day!

01/10/2009

The title was the eye catcher but first I need to back track.  After the office closed yesterday I wasn’t feeling well.  Hunni was traveling so I donned the sweats and snuggie and hunkered down with some tea.

There was NOTHING on TV.  Chris Rock was on Oprah talking about “Good Hair” that made me laugh hysterically thinking about my friend Teisha.  We had the chat about “good hair” versus “bad hair” while in her salon.  Hunni and I want to adopt a little girl from Ethiopia she was schooling me on hair.  Chris Rock’s documentary was as funny and frank as Teisha is.  Love ya girl!

After Chris and Oprah TV was dull.  Then the aha moment came when I remembered Brandi commenting about her love of LOST. I never started the show because I assumed it wouldn’t last.  By the time everyone, and I do mean everyone, told me what I was missing…. I was too lost, hehe, to catch up.

Netflix became my best friend yesterday.  I looked it up and started watching.  I watched 6 episodes in a row.  So addicting! I don’t know how the rest of you wait a week between episodes or God forbid the seasons.  My friend Dan was so right..it’s better when you can watch several in a row.  Leo even got in on the action.

Sick me and Leo watching LOST!

Sick me and Leo watching LOST!

He wasn’t feeling well either, so he curled up under my arm peeking every few minutes when something would explode or those things (WHAT ARE THEY?!…no don’t tell me….) would screech!  Peanut couldn’t be bothered from her beauty rest.

The queen on her pillows.

The queen on her pillows.

Now the dilemma is to find time to watch more.  Because I’m hooked. Thanks Brandi for giving me something new to obsess about. 🙂

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Now back to the title.  While in Colorado I saw a blurb in Weight Watchers Magazine about World Vegetarian Day on October 1st.  I don’t think I could ever be a full vegetarian but I thought it would be a fun challenge.  I love being flexitarian with some chicken, pork and fish but there are entire days I go without any animal protein.  So today would be one of those days.

Tonight is Crockpot Black Bean Soup from Weight Watchers.  There was one tiny adjustment because the recipe called for Chorizo…my favorite spicy sausage.  Thank God for Trader Joe’s where I found soy chorizo.

Here’s what we had in the house:

The stuff I have on hand.

The stuff I have on hand.

  • Lime juice
  • garlic
  • bay leaf (FREE!!! because I only bought one and it didn’t weigh on the scale)
  • soy chorizo
  • onion
  • black beans
  • cumin
  • salt and pepper (not pictured)

Hunni is the carnivore so I wasn’t intending on letting on about World Vegetarian Day.  It kind of slipped out when he asked why he had to make a new recipe (it was his turn to cook).  He’s a smart one and caught on quick…”How can this be vegetarian if it has meat in it?”

I ran down saying, “I can’t hear you!”  I couldn’t hold back the giggle. He promised to still eat it if I told him.  Silly Hunni already knew that because when he was putting away the TJ’s groceries on Saturday he asked me where to put the “soy chore-a-zo.”  *giggle*

Hunni had to pick up a red and green pepper, some dry cooking sherry, and cilantro…plus some milk for his breakfasts.

This was his happy face :-)

This was his happy face 🙂

He stuffed peppers in his pocket and looked like he smuggled them out of the store.

Smuggled out peppers (not really...he didn't want to waste a bag)

Smuggled out peppers (not really...he didn't want to waste a bag)

Having learned from experience, I told him the cilantro is in the veggie section and looked like a weed…kind of.  He said he asked the clerk where the “weed” was since it wasn’t out yet.  I believe I married a nut.

After all the hilarity it was a great VEGETARIAN meal.  I had pumpkin pie oatmeal for breakfast and a hugh jass salad with hummus dressing for lunch to fulfill the vegetarian-ness. Not much different from most days for me except the more conscious effort. Have a happy Vegetarian Day!

Are you going to celebrate World Vegetarian Day?  One meal? All Day?  Tell me how.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    01/10/2009 10:58 AM

    bfast was vegetarian and lunch might be, too 🙂 Dinner won’t be tonight…or, well, it could be! We’ll see what happens.

    Yay!!!! We LOVE LOST. It’s so hard waiting a week inbetween episodes because it’s so crazy all the time. I’m glad you liked it. This coming season (January 2010) is the LAST season, so you have just enough time to catch up on everything and watch how it ends. I’m sad it’s the last season, but kind of glad they’re not trying to stretch it out anymore because there’s only so much craziness you can create 🙂

  2. 01/10/2009 11:08 AM

    I’m so addicted now. And now that i know I have until January this will be my stress relief during our Christmas Kettle Drive. I almost stayed up really late watching even more episode. I’ve seen on E! and things how crazy it can get but I don’t want to peek at the internet to find out. So tempting.

    Glad to hear that you are trying some veggie options today. I thought it was quite a fun challenge.

    Thanks again Brandi!

  3. 01/10/2009 1:27 PM

    Oh man. I wish I would have know. wait, i haven’t eaten any meat today, i still have a chance! thanks for sharing, even though i’m not a vegatarian, maybe i’ll honor it today. 🙂 just found your blog..:)

    • 01/10/2009 5:47 PM

      Sorry… I thought about hinting at it yesterday but I forgot.

      I’m not veggie either but I like doing it occassionally for cost reason and for taste. Have fun trying it out today.

      Thanks for the comment!

  4. 01/10/2009 5:28 PM

    haha your husband sounds funny. Happy Vegetarian Day! I will (and have been) celebrating national vegetarian day, and month! I’m actually a vegan, so vegetarian is easy for me. 🙂

    Glad I found your site, your personality shines through and I found myself smiling. 🙂

    • 01/10/2009 5:59 PM

      Awww thanks 🙂 I’m intrigued by veganism and vegetarianism but I can’t do it completely. I like to do it sporatically…that’s why flexitarian works great for me.

      Hunni cracks me up all the time. He’s such a goof and I love him 🙂

      Hope you continue to enjoy the site!

  5. 01/10/2009 8:48 PM

    I don’t eat red meat or pork products, so today was a usual day for me (which means it included turkey and chicken). I’d love to be a vegan but I have so many food allergies (peas, peanuts, soy, walnuts, corn, shellfish) that I think it would be really hard for me to not get super bored with my protein options. A girl can only eat so many beans!

    • 01/10/2009 10:16 PM

      That’s one of my biggest things. I don’t like a ton of soy stuff. I don’t usually like the flavor or texture. But I do like beans but there is only so much I can take. 🙂

  6. 06/02/2011 12:18 AM

    I didn’t know today was World Vegetarian Day! I’m celebrating all day… but then again, I celebrate every day 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Kale Chip Fun + Goals | It All Changes
  2. Grocery Therapy + Goals | It All Changes
  3. You Can Make This : Dried Beans « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

