Skip to content

Every 3rd song

30/09/2009

Remember my mom’s funny adventure with trying to upload new songs to my iPod after she erased them all.  Well I did get my iPod back and I’ve been listening to it… I like to listen to music while I get ready in the morning so I put it on my iHome.  But I’ve noticed that I don’t like to listen to all my music all the time.  I really didn’t have a chance to teach my mom to put the new music into play lists (she didn’t have enough energy) so I’ve got one big list.  I tend to put it on shuffle.

 

There was a funny little thing that went around by email awhile ago and one of them said something to the effect of “How come if I like all the music on my iPod I only listen to every 3rd if it is playing?”  Or something like that.  I’m totally like this.  Even if I put the music in playlists I still end up skipping every other song or so and repeating some songs over and over (Kris Allen’s version of Kanye’s song).  I can never pick new songs on my own even to upload because I love all music so I would go broke just loading my iPod.  I’ve actually done this before…spent all the money in my checking to upload my iPod when I first got one.

 

Kind of reminds me of life for me.  I am so random and varied that when it comes to food, exercise, tv, music, etc I can get on a kick with something and watch it non-stop and then I can get bored of it.  I have a random attention span. 

 

I find something I love with exercise and I do it for a while.  First it was step classes when I first started working out.  Then it was walking outdoors, then hills on the TM, the elliptical and now running and yoga.  I can’t seem to keep a varied exercise plan.  I know I need to so that I prevent injury like my current hip problem….oooops.  But my mind doesn’t work that way.  I tell myself I need to get good at one thing instead of jumping around.  There are so many people who are just runner, why can’t I be one?

Anyone have any ideas on how to vary up my workouts more regularly? 

 

Food can be difficult but I’ve gotten better with this.  I used to eat the same 5 or 6 meals every week.  Breakfast and lunch were fairly standard (heck they still are) and then dinner alternated between these quick easy meals I knew I could fix fast and were cheap.  Now I’m a bit more adventurous.  I buy lots of staples like pasta, tortillas, polenta, etc and veggies and then mix and match only having to buy a few ingredients I’m missing for menus.  I like this because I get to use my creativity and I get to taste amazing food like the baby spinach parmesan polenta I made monday… I could have eaten the entire pot and it wasn’t that bad per serving.

 

My polenta chilling on the arm of my chair :-)

My polenta chilling on the arm of my chair 🙂

I also sometimes jus throw random stuff together.  And a little salsa on anything makes it taste better.  A few days ago I made a wrap with an avocado I needed to use up, some Reduced Fat Feta cheese, hummus, and salsa of course.  It was heaven in my mouth.

Thrown together wrap with staples from the kitchen.

Thrown together wrap with staples from the kitchen.

 

 

TV and the like I don’t mind.  I like to try new shows and sometimes I get addicted to them like Hoarders on AMC or Intervention or 16 and pregnant or Tool Academy or Flash Forward….see told you I was random.  And my iPod has everything from Bill Cosby comedy to KT Tunstall to AI finalists to Charlie Daniels Band (Devil went down to Georgia anyone?).  Random I know but that’s me.  I just discovered Pandora today and it might be my new music at work saving grace 🙂 

I’m open to new suggestions for TV shows and music as well.  I might have to make more money to buy songs or invest in a DVR but why not 🙂

  

I’ve figured this out about myself but now I’ve got to work on it.  Habits can be good…heck that’s how I’ve kept off about 100 pounds for several years and still workout (most of the time) even with injuries…modified of course.  But sometimes change is good…right?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 30/09/2009 11:48 AM

    The shows we watch the most (without a DVR!):
    The Office
    LOST
    Top Chef
    How I Met Your Mother
    football 🙂

    • 30/09/2009 2:04 PM

      I love Top Chef and football. I missed Lost from the beginning and I’m afraid to get it on Netflix and spend my weekends and evenings engrossed.

  2. 30/09/2009 7:39 PM

    I go through phases, but right now I’m watching The Biggest Loser, House, Mercy, Survivor and (my fave) Grey’s Anatomy. Love Project Runway but I always miss it. I even watch the Kardashian shows sometimes (they’re always on) and the Real Housewives of whatever.

    Music…fave song right now is Bon Iver, Re: Stacks. Beautiful. Also love Cannonball by Damien Rice. Two mellow songs. To work out to I have a playlist on my site if you want to check it out!

    • 30/09/2009 10:57 PM

      I’m totally addicted to LOST thanks to Brandi 🙂 I watch a lot on bravo and e! because the always repeat.

      I’ll have to check your playlist out.

  3. 01/10/2009 6:08 AM

    it can be hard to keep stuff varied but when I preplan my weeks it seems to be a little easier?

    if you want me to answer on site and see what my readers have to say too just email me!

    MizFit08@yahoo.com

  4. bites4change permalink
    01/10/2009 9:06 AM

    I tried an iTRAIN workout this week, IT ROCKED! That would be my suggestion for changing up your workout routine!

    Have a gerat day 🙂

    • 01/10/2009 10:17 PM

      Do you have to download those? I might have to check it out…thanks 🙂

      • bites4change permalink
        02/10/2009 9:34 AM

        http://www.itrain.com/

        You do have to download them and they cost $$, but they’re cheap. It’s like having your own personal trainer!

Leave a Reply

