Skip to content

Do people even say thank you anymore?

19/09/2009

So nice.

Just a nice thought.

I grew up in a household where we were taught to say “please” and “thank you” and “yes, ma’am/sir” and “no, ma’am/sir”.  It’s just normal to me to do so.  I thank everyone for everything even people who are just doing their job.  I like to hear “thank you” so I thought other people would too.

 

But on this trip I was amazed at how many people didn’t expect a simple thank you.  I said thank you to the TSA agent at the airport and literally got a look like I had three heads.  I’m sure they get a lot of attitude from frustrated passengers everyday who just want to make their flights.  But is it so strange to actually say thank you.  After a couple seconds he realized I wasn’t being sarcastic and gave me a smile 🙂

 

The lady at Starbucks who made me an awesome latte, the driver of the bus to the rental car location, the airline attendant after the flight, the cashier in the Walgreens, and the ticket agent and the airport all got a nice and sincere thank you.  And they all thought I was crazy.  But it kind of baffles me that people don’t say thank you anymore to the point that people don’t expect you to do so.  How sad that we’ve become so self centered that we can’t even say it to people for doing a nice job on something even if it is their job.   Even the soldier at the airport returning from active duty in Iraq that I saw and thanked for his service was baffled by my honest and heart-felt “thank you.” 

 

I even send thank you cards for help I receive and for nice words and kind thoughts.  It’s just part of who I am and I love to tell others.  Sending a thank you card or gift is not unual to me and some people are shocked that this simple action still happens.  Why shouldn’t I say thank you when someone helps me when they didn’t have to and I’m grateful?

 

Now I’ll step off my soap box about saying thank you and let you know why I think this is so important to me and my health and isn’t just a bitter diatribe on a weight loss blog.  For me when I am grateful for what people do for me, from the little to the big, and actually say “Thank you” out loud it makes me happy.  It makes me even more thankful for the things I have and puts me in a better mood.  Even when I’m in a bad mood saying “thank you” can lift my spirits even just a little.  The more grateful I am and acknowledge it, the happier I am.  Being happier helps me to eat less and exercise more. 

 

I also love to see the smiles on people’s faces when they realize I truly mean it and am not just saying it.  For them I’m sure it brightens their day even a bit.  I remember the happiness a true thank you brought me as a cashier while in college. 

 

Being happy myself and making others happy is a wonderful experience.  It helps me to make better choices food while and exercise wise than I would if I were in an awful mood.  So try I try to make an effort to say thank you to everyone.  Try it…it may lift your mood as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chelle permalink
    19/09/2009 1:40 PM

    You put a smile on my face when I got your card last weekend!!

    I was recovering from my cath and haven’t gotten a chance to say thank you yet! 🙂

    • 19/09/2009 2:42 PM

      Oh Chelle no problem. This wasn’t in search of Thank yous for me. It was just my frustration with never hearing anyone say it any more.

      But I’m glad it brightened your day. I was thinking and praying for you. We definitely need to make arrangements for lunch or dinner again sometime soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

