Skip to content

Words of Encouragement

14/09/2009
Rosie's Right!

Rosie's Right!

Some days this whole Weight Loss thing becomes old hat.  I wake up and have my healthy breakfast of oats with some sort of fruit, greek yogurt and olive oil.  I eat my snack mid-day of fruit and some nuts usually.  And then lunch and dinner are fairly basic but healthy.  I buy the same things at the grocery store most weeks and my exercise patterns and habits are pretty routine.

 

So some days I forget how hard I work at this because it has become normal.  Normal doesn’t mean easy…not by any means.  When the crazy ice cream and chocolate sales stare at me in Target begging me to buy them and release them from their package into my mouth…it’s not easy.  It’s not easy when I want to stay home and watch old episodes of Project Runway instead of running on the treadmill at the gym.  But I do it because I love it (and if you believe that I have some swamp land for ya…I do some days but not all).

 

So when I get words of encouragement I really love it.  It makes me feel good about the changes I’ve made.  Not that I’ve made them to get the compliments but they are a nice bonus.  I don’t do good with accepting compliments but I like to hear them…even if I stumble and blush and try to play them down.

 

What brought this all up is my Weight Watchers meeting yesterday.  I’ve been doing WW for almost 2 years now.  In those two years I have not hit goal even though I had about 45 pounds to lose at the beginning.  But yesterday my friend who is becoming a new leader was being evaluated by the district manager.  I just sat in the meeting piped up like I normally do when I had something to say.  And when they were talking about the Lose for Good plan I spoke up about what is really needed in Food Pantries because I run one and have a pretty good idea of what we need.  (BTW even if you aren’t a WW member think about donating to a local food pantry.  We rely on donations to help feed the less fortunate in our communities and could really use your help)  Well after the meeting the manager approached me and asked if I ever thought about becoming a leader.  Have I thought about it…YES!! But it wouldn’t fit into my schedule AT ALL.  I have the craziest schedule and move far to often to make me of any use.  But I loved that she complimented my tips and advice I gave to the ladies in my meeting.  She even said how good I look and was shocked that I wasn’t actually at goal. 

 

I just really needed to hear that because I’ve been so frustrated at my weight loss lately since I’ve never gotten below 163 and my goal is 155.  Granted I haven’t been completely On Plan all the time so its my fault.  But it was amazing for people to tell me that they can tell how well I’m doing and that this really is a lifestyle for me.  Its days like this when I’m glad I stick it out instead of drowning my sorrows in chocolate and diet coke…I drank a ton of diet coke but the chocolate stayed at the store.  Yeah for small victories.

 

So for me a little bit of encouragement is key when it comes to keeping at it.  Once you have lost a lot of the weight people stop complimenting you on “oh you look so good” and “what are you doing to lose?”  It is just expected that you stay the same or some people place bets on how long it will take you to gain it all back.  I guess I have to find other things to help measure my success since the scale will only go down about 10 more pounds…which really isn’t a whole heck of a lot.

 

So let me just say to all you… You are doing a great job!  No matter if you made little strides by just not having a second piece of dessert (which trust me I know is a HUGE stride most of the time) or HUGE strides by giving up fast food or bringing your lunch to work.  Whatever you are doing to improve your health and to enjoy life more… keep it up because you are doing so well and your body will thank you.  You are AMAZING and remember it everyday!

 

Head on over to HangryPants for the Blogging Pants.  She is asking for nominations of great bloggers you love so that she can share the love and send on the pants.  I nominated Brandi because she is such and inspiration to me.  Head on over nominate a blogger you think deserves it.  🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    14/09/2009 8:22 AM

    aw, you are too sweet! And here is my encourgement that I needed today 🙂

    Isn’t it amazing how we get a compliment or kind act right when we need it? That is AWESOME that she asked you about being a leader!!! So exciting, even if it doesn’t work out. It’s always nice to hear from other people that your hard work is showing!

    • bites4change permalink
      14/09/2009 10:08 AM

      Great words of encouragement!
      I think those of us that have ventured into this world of imroving our health are a lot alike, especially those of us in the blogging community. We’re making a BIG commitment to our goals. We spend a lot of time reporting on our progress and measuring our success. We’re so focused on the end, reaching our goal. I think that’s why it’s easy to feel frustrated when we don’t reach it right away or if we have a minor slip up. I know when I make a couple of bad choices, I feel SUCH GUILT. But you’re right, we are doing so great and we’re making huge progress towards reaching our goals… even if we take a few steps backwards (that’s what I’m reminding myself of at least :).

      You know how I KNOW you’re doing great!? Because healthy choices are becoming “normal.” No, not always easy, but you’re healthy habits are becoming a normal part of your routine. WAY TO GO!

      • 15/09/2009 1:24 PM

        Aww thanks. I realized how normal the habits were this morning when I ordered egg whites on my sandwich instead of eggs and didn’t like the butter they grilled the sandwich in. It just tasted weird. Made me realize my mind and body really are changing.

Leave a Reply

