Skip to content

What not to Wear

07/09/2009
I’m writing this post as I sit on my couch in my PJ’s and old college sweatshirt having just rolled out of bed about an hour ago.  I woke up at normal time but decided to lay there for another hour just because I could.  I would have loved to be sleeping during that time but I’ll take what I can get 🙂
Me in my college sweatshirt that used to fit.

Me in my college sweatshirt that used to fit.

Now I admit that this is not the most fashion forward outfit.  The sweatshirt is a size XXL unisex and I haven’t been that size since about 2004.  But it’s just so darn comfy and full of memories.  I wouldn’t trade it for the world even though it has old coffee and pizza stains on the front and the cuffs are shredded from too many late nights worrying over studying and chewing on them (sorry gross I know). 

Bad college habits.  They did not taste good.

Bad college habits. They did not taste good.

But I wouldn’t get rid of it for the life of me.  My mom offered to buy me a new one when I lost the majority of my weight so I would have one that fit.  I just can’t do it.  I think I love the familiarity of it and the comfort of it.  I can ball my entire body up in it and keep warm on the couch.  I remember most of the stains and how they got there.  Besides this is the only real piece of clothing I own from before my Weight Loss.  Everything else has been donated to friends who would wear it or The Salvation Army (imagine that).  I think I need a little reminder of how big I used to be so that I don’t go back.  It would be kind of bad to gain all that weight back and only have a sweatshirt to wear.  That is definitely what not to wear…there would need to be some pants involved somewhere.

Fine that’s understandable for keeping one item but why do I still have some other unflattering clothes that definitely do not make me or my current body look good.  When I helped my friend move on Saturday I pulled out an old pair of jeans and t-shirt figuring they would be comfortable  and I wouldn’t mind if I got them dirty.  Well then I looked in a mirror … or more specifically the window at target as I went in to get my Pumpkin Spiced Latte.  I looked horrible.  My hips looked huge, my stomach looked pudgy and all around I looked like I belonged in the 360 mirror with Stacy and Clinton.  Eeek!  Then the very next day I was wearing a different t-shirt and jeans and I looked GREAT!  What’s the difference.  The cut…definitely the cut.  The jeans were not mom jeans (Saturday’s were) and the t-shirt was less fitted. 

Seems I still have a few things to learn about fitting clothes to my body.  I’m so used to wearing my uniform and workout clothes most of the time so I don’t really know how to fit my body for real clothes. 

Right after my first 5K post surgery.

Right after my first 5K post surgery.

Work me

Work me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Perhaps I should spend more time watching my style gurus and reading the style sections in  magazines like Shape and Women’s Health (Vogue just goes over my head with clothes and style I just do not understand.)  Thank God I don’t have to really “dress myself often.”

 

Questions:

Do you own a piece of clothing to remind you how far you’ve come?  What is it?

Do you know how to dress your body?  What looks best on you?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    07/09/2009 8:43 PM

    I can’t bring myself to get rid of my old college sweatshirt either, and it’s about in the same shape as yours. It’s cozy and I just love to wrap myself in it 🙂

    • 07/09/2009 11:47 PM

      That’s exactly it…it’s cozy and comfy. And it’s MINE! Thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. bites4change permalink
    08/09/2009 7:50 AM

    Thanks for checking out my blog Missy!
    I’m with you on the sweatshirt– the older the better! Old tee shirts from high school sports and college make up my fashion unfoward lounge wear and also my workout clothes. They’re so comfy!

    As far as dressing my body, I think I know what works. I was shopping this weekend at Express and asked an employee if she could help me put together an outfit. SHE WAS AMAZING. Honeslty, just like a personal shopper! I get overwhelmed with fashion, I need to ask for help while shopping more often!

    • 08/09/2009 10:22 AM

      Old Band T-shirts and the like are definitely modern day workout clothes for me too.

      I may have to aske the person at the store the next time I’m actually looking for an outfit. I never think of that but they usually are dressed really cute.

Leave a Reply

