Skip to content

And the verdict is…

04/09/2009

I’m stupid!  It turns out that increasing your speed by almost 1/2 a mile per hour at the same time you increase your mileage from 3 miles 3 times a week to 2.5 miles 5 times a week is not good.  Duh!  I got tendinitis in my hip from over use and need to “baby” it.  Those are the words of my doc. 

Let me just say how much I love having a doc who is also a runner. We were able to talk about racing and how much we love it and how I can get back into form as quickly as possible so I can still run the Tufts 10K.  I’m excited that she’s telling me it’s no big deal.  “Baby it” means ice several times a day, a regimen of Advil and walking only on no inclines for a few days.  She said it should be okay and that I need to ease back into the running after the “babying.” 

But I have even better news!  I thought that I would only be able to run 10K and that would be the limit as far as length.  The surgeon and PT said possibly a half marathon but that would be pushing it.  Of course this was before they had seen how good I’ve done since surgery.  It was a complete and utter success.  Doc actually said I’m the perfect patient because I didn’t just stop at the surgery.  I keep up with the fitness and the strength.  And because of this she said that I could totally do a half marathon if I train properly! 

I’m ecstatic!  I could have only hoped for this but now it’s real 😀  I’m going to run the Tuft’s 10K, train for another for the spring while running through the winter and then pick a half marathon for the fall to train for.  Heck I may spend part of my afternoon researching half marathons instead of writing my sermon (don’t worry it will get done).  Can I tell you how happy I am?!

Wooohooo…now pardon me while I go take my Advil and sit on my ice pack.  BTW this totally makes me a real runner now with a real injury, right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/09/2009 11:06 AM

    That’s fantastic! Yay for healing well!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. From 2009 to 2010 « It All Changes
  2. I’m Not a Machine « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

