Skip to content

Teamwork is key

03/09/2009

teamwork

I had to go to the dentist this morning and thus the late post.  I don’t really like the dentist because of the screeching sound of the drill and iron hook they use on my teeth.  Not to mention the smell of smoke.  Have you ever heard the Bill Cosby sketch about the dentist where he’s trying to tell the dentist that he sees and smells smoke coming out of his mouth.  That’s how I feel every time I go to the dentist.  Not a pleasurable experience at all.  I guess I should work harder at not getting cavities but I do my best.  At least I still have my teeth right?

Anyway while I was trying to ignore the awful sounds and the weird numbing that was spreading across my nose from the Novocaine I did notice something cool about my dentist and his assistant.  They have been working together for years in our little town and they kind of know what to do without talking.  Sure occasionally he’ll let her know what instrument he needs next but for the most part they work as a pair, together doing what needs to get done.  I don’t open my eyes while they are in my mouth (strange sense of claustrophobia takes over with someone that close to me) but I can tell that he couldn’t do it all himself and it takes both of them to fix the little cavities. 

I kind of had a realization while sitting in the dentist chair “watching” them work together.  I need to stop fighting myself when it comes to my health.  For me lately its been either the eating that has been on track and I’ve been slacking with the exercise….or I’ve been eating tons of junk and working my butt off.  It’s kind of like shooting myself in the foot.  What good is it going to do me to work hard at either of them if I’m not willing to put in all the work.  I know I can do it because I have in the past.  Heck that’s how I got to where I am now and have stayed around 160-170 for several years.  But to get to where I want to be I’m going to have to get back into the groove and “Just do it.”

Jason over at Run4Change had a great post yesterday about how he feels about the exercise and eating.  He’s lost a great amount of weight on Weight Watchers too.  And he has the same fears I do…Gaining it all back.  I hear so many people at my meetings saying that this is their umpteenth time in the program.  It scares me that I may not make this stick this time and I might end up back over 200 and maybe even 250 again.  I definitely don’t want to get back there.

So I need to get my butt in gear.  I’m not going to be perfect at either aspect.  And what fun would that be.  I like my treats every now and again…they just shouldn’t be all the time, everyday.  And while I love to exercise there are still somedays that I’m just going to need to take off (like for my hip).  It isn’t good if I’m constantly working out and not letting my body rest.  Finding that nice middle ground where my diet and exercise are a team is going to be my challenge.  But I’ll be working at it.  I’m not giving up.

Update on my hip: At the advice of some friends who have had similar problems I took some Ibuprofen yesterday and iced my hip.  It’s still sore as heck so I’m calling my doc today for an appointment.  Its been bugging me since Monday and I need to get this taken care of ASAP.

BTW let me just say I love my dentist’s office despite the drilling and stuff.  They know me and Hunni very well.  They watch our services on TV (we record them each week for public access).  Thank you Dr. Blanchard’s office 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/09/2009 10:59 AM

    finding that middle ground is what takes the longest, but it’s worth all the work you put into finding it.

    • 03/09/2009 12:03 PM

      That middle ground is the problem. My mind want’s to be “normal” but doesn’t understand that “normal” isn’t healthy these days. But it will be worth the work.

Leave a Reply

