Skip to content

Hip, hop, hippity hop you don’t stop

02/09/2009

Or do ya..?  I did the yoga stretches yesterday for my hip and rested all day.  Then I decided since it felt so much like fall (YEAH!) I would go for a run on the rail trail instead of at the gym on the Treadmill.  It was perfect weather…not to hot, not to cold.  I figured I’d run 15 minutes out and then 15 back and I’d have about 2 miles.  My little Nike+ iPod sensor is lost so I couldn’t use it for exact calculations.  I started out great.  My hip was sore but not painful.  Then about 7 minutes into my run it really started to hurt.  I pushed for another minute and decided that I would stop and just walk the rest.  I was really disappointed in myself because I was doing so well.  I was faster, I was stronger, I could run longer and now I’m sidetracked. 

I need to get online and do some research into what could cause this pain in my hip.  One thing for sure is that this is different from my back pain a year ago.  Its been almost  a year since my surgery but this feels nothing like that pain so that’s good.  But pain in any form is not good.  I’m debating about seeing the doctor for this.  I’m allowed to run but I don’t want to be told not to because of my hip.  I’m so happy to be training for the Tuft’s 10K that to be told to stop now would kill me.  Well not really but I’d be so disappointed. 

I guess for me I need to rest some and let my hip rest so that it can get better.  I will be a googling fool this morning on hip pain.  I hate resting so I will probably still get in my yoga and weights and maybe a walk.  But I won’t run.  I’m sad about it but I won’t run.  After the back problems I don’t want to hurt myself again.

Here’s hoping this hip stuff is just an irritation or inflamation of some sorts and will heal quickly.

Yummy Yummy in my tummy!

Yummy Yummy in my tummy!

In good news I got my first Pumpkin Spiced Latte from Starbucks yesterday.  I loved these things last year and I’m so glad they are back.  My Starbucks was a big tease and put out the signs last week but I finally got one.  And of course I had to have the pumpkin loaf to go with it.  They are a seasonal treat after all.  I made that my dinner with a peach and some almond butter at home.  Funny thing is that I bought a Diet coke after looking around Target for a bit (that’s where my Starbucks is located…fancy I know) and I got a coupon for $2.00 off a Pumpkin Spiced Latte.  I should have done it in reverse order.  But then again I wouldn’t have an excuse to get another one 🙂  Thank God for small blessings of Lattes.  ….BTW I got it without the whip.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/09/2009 9:05 AM

    i hope it starts feeling better soon! definitely rest a bit and don’t push it too hard.

    • 02/09/2009 10:47 AM

      After yesterday I’m not going to run til it rests…but boy do I want to.

Trackbacks

  1. From 2009 to 2010 « It All Changes
  2. Here I Go Again… « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

