Skip to content

Why I blog?

18/08/2009

I’ve been thinking a lot about MizFit‘s question about why we blog.  And I read back to the first few posts on this one to kind of get an idea about what I said.  Now I’m not some lofty poet who can wax philosophical about helping others because I need to help myself most of the time.  I didn’t even think anyone would actually read my musings when I started.  In fact I didn’t know if I could keep this up as evidenced by my spotty performance the first 2 months or so.  But I did like a challenge (as I’ve said before) and I was challenged by some Weight Watchers friends to journal about what I ate and how I felt for a week.  Why journal when you can blog…I mean isn’t this the new fangled high tech journal anyway 🙂 

So I started.  I was interested in the food blogging community and tried it for a bit with the first few posts.  Then I realized I was boring and ate a lot of the same things a lot the time.  I don’t usually change things up and the picture taking was a beast…I could never remember to take the pic until I was more than half way done if I could even remember my camera at all.  And I gotta give those girls credit because I felt like a dork really self conscious about taking pics of my food in front of people or at restaurants and we eat out more than I’d like to admit. 

So that idea went out the window.  Woooooooooooooshhh…see it fly by 🙂  New Idea please….Ding Ding Ding.  I had friends who told me they thought all the changes I’ve made over the last 5 years or so of my Weight Loss Journey are commendable.  Who me?  Commendable?  I am flawed just like the rest of ’em.  But apparently my resolve to keep going when things were hard or when I didn’t really want to were admirable .  That means all the mistakes and mis-steps weren’t for nothing. 😀 

enterEnter the new theme and direction of my blog… All the little tricks, things, ideas that have helped me keep at this.  I love thinking back on what has kept me going because someday (especially lately) I don’t wanna.  I just want to curl up with a big chocolate bar and some soda and eat my misery.  But I don’t because I’m looking back at all I’ve done.  I blog to remind me of what I have done and can still do and to hopefully share something that may help someone…anyone.  Sorry for the long diatribe for the short answer.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Onto sports update: Yesterday was the second day of my 10K training with the Run UniversityProgram.  I don’t know if I mentioned it but this program has me running 5 days a week.  That’s more days than I normally run but I am starting with lower milage on each day so it averages out to what I would normally run (5 days at 2.25 miles = 11.25 miles vs. 3 days at 3.5 miles = 10.5 miles).  Now we’ll just see if my back and legs agree with my hypothesis. 

Yesterday was a warm up followed by 2 one-mile runs with a 0.25 mile walk in between.  I jacked up the speed to 5.6 mph last night and loved it.  I burned a good bit of calories which I loved and had that significant warm feeling through my muscles that only a good workout can give.  I even got to enjoy a good combo of House reruns and Cake Boss because again this was a Treadmill run :-/  We’ve had some crazy heat wave this week in the Massachusetts area that we’ve never seen, at least not this summer.  It actually feels like summer instead of some long dragged out spring. 

Tonight or tomorrow (depending on when I feel like it) I have to warm up and then run the entire 2.25 miles without stopping.  Shouldn’t be too bad because I’m used to longer and I wanted to keep going the last two nights.  Here’s hoping any way.  🙂

BTW if you want some free food from Food Should Taste Good (some of my favorites) head on over to Iowa Girl Eats.  Happy entering 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. 18/08/2009 9:15 AM

    i’m excited to see the new posts here 🙂 and great job on the running!

Leave a Reply

