Skip to content

Is it really a good deal?

17/08/2009

First for the running update lets go to speedy:  When I did the original C25K program I was only running at 5.0 mph or max 5.1 mph on the treadmill.  I just felt super slow but didn’t want to burn myself out.  I felt like a yogger and to an actual runner.  Well yesterday I did the first day of Week 4 for the C210K program on Run University and did the running at 5.5 mph!!   Heck I even did the walking at 3.8 mph instead of 3.5 mph.  I feel like Speedy Gonzalez speedy.   I’m actually faster than before my surgery!! Go me, go me!

 

The actual run was on a Treadmill 😦  It was too dagone hot to run outside.  And I had too much work to wait until it was cooler.  But I warmed up a bit and then ran for 0.5 miles, walked 0.25, ran 0.75, walked 0.25 and then ran a final 0.5.  Total of 2.25 miles.  Not what I normally run (3 miles) but I’m building up again.  The instructions actually say “Go Home” after that last run even if you want to run more.  I did want to do more but I listened to Dan the man and went home. 

Today I have another run scheduled (5 total this week…Dan’s trying to kill me!).  I have to warm up, run 1 mile, walk 0.25 miles, run another mile and then GO HOME!  I might have to do some elliptical to supplement that workout because I’ll only burn around 3oo-350 calories and I’m used to 600.  We’ll see.

Now back to our regularly scheduled program….

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Lately I’ve been paying a lot of attention to the food deals on TV/Radio/Around town in an effort to save money.  I’m not above spending a bit more for local or organic produce but sometimes I want to get a good deal.  I actually drove to Friendly’s tonight to get some ice cream because I heard that they had 99 cent dish/cones.  And they were advertising a $6.99 deal for entrees with Happy Ending Sundaes.  And McDonald’s has been advertising getting 2 for 1 priced egg McMuffins for yourself so that you don’t have “biter’s remorse” when you finish the first. 

There are so many other deals like that lately that it has me wondering.  I used to be the person who would jump at these deals in a heartbeat.  I liked any deal that got me more food for less money.  I lived on Egg McMuffins on my way to work some days and loved the larger bowls of pasta at Ruby Tuesday’s and Cheesecake Factory.  And don’t get me started about the free ice cream at Friendly’s after a meal. 

But now I look at those “deals” and think is it really a deal?  Sure I could save a few bucks when I eat out and get a meal at one of these places but what is it going to cost me in the long run?  My stomach is definitely not going to feel good after I eat it which will probably require a nice chaser of the pink stuff (Pepto).  And I won’t sleep well because it will sit like a pit in my stomach.  And of course I’m not going to want to hit the gym because of the aforementioned stomach pains.  Let’s face it what may be a tasty bite at first does not end up being a good thing at all.

So lately I’ve been more conscious about making choices that are wallet friendly but also health friendly.  Heck I like ice cream with the rest of us…but if I’m going to have it I’ll eat dinner at home and go get some for dessert.  Or I love making my own pasta at home so I know what goes in anc control how much I make.  And breakfast sandwiches really do taste better when I make them because I can change up what I put on them everyday.

Heck it may cost me a bit more in moola but a lot less in ugh feelings.  It’s just a better deal to do it my own way.

Question: What is one meal you make at home that is better than you can get out?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chelle permalink
    18/08/2009 8:58 PM

    Man, before surgery I was thrilled to get to 3.0 mph! LOL!

    • 18/08/2009 11:55 PM

      LOL! But you and I had different issues though. And that 5.0 was pre-injury. After that I had a hard time walking at 3.5.

      Glad that you are doing better 🙂

Leave a Reply

