Skip to content

New Day, New Plans

16/08/2009

Last night I watched Julie and Julia at the movies.  It was another night out by myself and I was intrigued because Julie was a blogger and Julia Child is just an interesting person.  Let’s just say the movie was hilarious and I could totally identify with Julie.  The joy of having something to call yours and how happy you get to get a comment from someone who is actually reading what you read. 

But the one thing that really resonated with me was Julie’s idea that she needed a goal/deadline.  I’m always deadline driven.  Knowing that something HAS TO get done by a certain time pushes me forward.  I think that’s why I like being a pastor so much.  I can’t put off my sermon too long because I don’t think my congregation would be too happy if I stood up on Sunday morning and said “Oops no sermon this week because I didn’t get it done.”  And Headquarters would not understand if I missed deadlines for grants we need to pay for all our social service programs.  And I know that the kids we work with would mutiny if I didn’t have a fun lesson planned.  In fact I know they would because I have shown a movie a few different times when things were crazy busy and they hated it and told me so.  LOL kids are honest 🙂

Anyways I digress.  I need goals to keep pushing myself forward.  I know that is why WW is working for me.  I have a goal weight, a goal for points to eat for each day, a goal for extra points, and I give myself a goal for exercise (AP) each week.  But I haven’t been doing so good in the exercise goal area.  Sure I’m getting in the AP’s… I run occasionally, I do the elliptical and I lift weights and do yoga.  But I need a challenge.  I’ve gotten complacent with just burning calories again instead of enjoying what I’m doing and pushing myself to improve.

Enter Stage Left: My new Running Challenge!  I can run 4 miles in under 45 minutes but I want more.  So I’m going to train to run a 10K!  I found a program on Run University for a Couch to 10K.  I’m going to have to modify it because I can already run 5K which is the first few weeks.  But I’m scared out of my mind excited and ready to run.  I know that I can do this and will run a 10K this fall.  I just have to find one. 

So today it starts.  A new day and my new plan to run.  I have plans to do yoga before lunch to loosen my hips and then hit the gym for weights once Hunni gets back from dropping off church members.  Then when it cools down this evening I’m going to  start with week 4 which means today I’m going to warm up, jog 1/2 a mile, walk 1/4, jog 3/4, walk 1/4, jog 1/2, for a total of 2.25 miles.  Ready, set, Here I go!

Question: Are you challenge motivated?  What kind of challenges do you set for yourself?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 16/08/2009 10:13 AM

    Yay for a new goal!! 🙂

    I am motivated by challenges. Right now, my challenge is to finish the Couch to 5k program. On Week 4 and going strong!

    • 16/08/2009 12:23 PM

      I did the Couch to 5K program when I first learned to run. And then I did it again to reteach myself after my surgery. Its a wonderful plan and really made me feel I could do it. The first time I ran the whole thing I screamed and jumped around.

      Keep up the good work and thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. 17/08/2009 8:22 AM

    how exciting!!! you’re going to do great!

Trackbacks

  1. I’m gonna do it! « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

