Skip to content

Making Lemonade out of Lemons

15/08/2009

Yesterday and today were different for me.  Hunni was out of town all day yesterday…first towards Boston for work and then he went to Albany for fun with friends who are moving.  So all day it was me and the dogs.  I did a lot of work, surfed the internet, did more work and then decided I didn’t want to spend my evening on the computer.  So I planned to walk downtown to the local theatre and see Julie and Julia because I’ve heard its AMAZING!  However my local theatre didn’t have it so I ended up seeing The Time Traveler’s Wife.  I loved that book and wanted to see the movie but was skeptical they could live up to the writing…in fact they did a good job.  Not as good as I would have hoped but I think it was worth the $7 I paid to get in and enjoy and evening by myself.  Then I walked next door to my gym and ran/did the elliptical.  I forgot my back brace so I could only run 15 minutes before I got sore.  But I did run at 5.5 instead of my normal 5.2. I was happy.  Then I jumped on the treadmill for another 35 minutes before walking home.  I actually enjoyed the evening including my iced coffee from a local organic coffee shop.  And I managed to avoid the yummy spiced molassas cookies that I found out are 9 points not the original 3 I thought. 

Today I have WW at 8.30 (in fact I’m about to head out the door).  I decided I’m not going to WI and depress myself.  I got on the scale this morning and it said I had gained 4.5 pounds since last saturday.  I’m dissapppointed in myself that I ate like crap (re: too much salt not enough real foods) this week.  I know that this isn’t healthy for me.  And even though it feels like everything around me is falling apart at times I have to try and keep my habits as normal as possible so I don’t fall into a big depression.  I’ve struggled with manic depression a lot as a teen and I know that routine is a big thing to help me get through the difficult times.  I’ve been stable on medications for over 6 years and I don’t want to fall back.  So here I am grabbing hold of the wagon and pulling myself on.  I want to keep things the best way for me. 

So that means for me I made overnight oats for breakfast to take with me (I’m loving how easy this is to grab and go) and I’m dressed to run the Rail Trail after the Farmer’s Market.  I’m excited to start the week off right.  I need the stability.  Heck life is throwing me lots of lemons right now and I don’t like getting hit with them so I’m making a big batch of homemade lemonade to share (I did work at Auntie Anne’s pretzels as a teenager after all).  🙂  Enjoy!

Question: What do you do to keep things normal when it feels like things are falling apart?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/08/2009 5:29 PM

    I’m sorry to hear that things aren’t working out for you right now. Hang in there.

    When it feels like things are falling apart I always turn to God. Obviously all the junk is not going to magically disappear, but HE always brings me peace and assurance that there is light at the end of the tunnel.

  2. 15/08/2009 8:49 PM

    You’ve got a great attitude, and I admire you so much for that.

    I have to agree with She-Fit. When things fall apart, I turn to God, too. Because I know He always provides a way out, and He doesn’t allow trials that I cannot handle, so there is bound to be a purpose and plan to what is happening to me.

  3. 15/08/2009 10:12 PM

    Thanks ladies. That’s what I’m holding onto right now. Even with everything seeming to tumble down around my I must say my faith has grown in this last week. Somehow by His grace and His grace alone I’m making it through this. I know someday I’ll understand why this is all happening but until then I’m holding firm to His promise He’ll never give me more than I can handle. But I think the phrase goes, “I just wish he didn’t trust me so much.”

Leave a Reply

