Skip to content

Looking Good!

12/08/2009

Have you ever just looked in the mirror and thought, “Not bad…I actually look good.”  This is exactly how I felt last night when I looked in the mirror.

I don’t usually have these moments.  Usually I’m being self critical about my stomach sticking out, or the love handles, or the little bit of flab under my arms.  Usually I can find something to pick on myself for even if it might just be in my imagination.  And I don’t normally think I look good in clothes either.  I have different sizes on top and bottom most time so I’m usually critical of that too thinking that it just doesn’t fit “right.”

Well last night I tried on the new running tights I bought the other day (at Old Navy of all places).  I bought a medium figuring if they were too small I’d take them back because I didn’t have time to try them on in the store.  But when I put them on last night they looked perfect.  I felt GREAT in them.  They made my legs look long and lean, my stomach felt flat and I just felt strong and fit in them. 

I liked it and it had been a long time since I felt that way about my body.  Even with all the weight I’ve lost and training I’ve put in I still feel like the fat girl.

Well today I’m saying “NO MORE!”  I’m not going to get down on myself about the small imperfections because we all have them in one way shape or form.  I’m going to work on complimenting myself on how I look and feel in my clothes and thank my body for what it does for me instead of all the things I think are wrong with it.  So here it goes.

1.  I am thankful that my body is getting stronger and my trainer is upping the weight that I do on my exercise.  I can feel the muscles getting stronger and I enjoy the “sore” feeling after a good workout.

2.  I am thankful that I can run again at all.  I thought I would never be able to do so after back surgery but I can run and pretty decent too.  I may never run a marathon but I’m okay with that.

3.  I am grateful that my clothes fit and don’t make me uncomfortable.  I can enjoy the way I feel in them instead of constantly adjusting them.

4.  I am grateful that I feel like a real athlete when I’m working out at the gym and have had compliments on my hard work and improvements.  I like seeing results and knowing others are seeing them too.

Question:  Are you more likely to compliment yourself or criticize yourself?  Think of one thing today that you are grateful for about your body.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/08/2009 9:48 AM

    how awesome!

    I’m definitely more likely to criticize myself, for sure.

    Today, I am grateful that I am healthy and happy and taking care of myself. I may not be perfect everyday, but I am making an effort.

    • 12/08/2009 11:51 AM

      That’s great Brandi! I don’t think we ever have perfect days but recognizing the effort to take care of ourselves is better than criticizing the mistakes. 😀

Leave a Reply

