Skip to content

Interesting Realization

11/08/2009

 I used to be a clothes horse…note the used to.  I loved shopping and buying clothes.  At my highest weight I didn’t have many stores I could shop in because of my size but when I went shopping I bought a lot.  Kind of to avoid having to do it often and kind of because if I found something I liked and it fit I bought it in multiple colors.  But my closets and dressers were packed.

When I started losing weight I stopped buying clothes.  I really didn’t want to spend money on stuff that wouldn’t fit in a few weeks/months/pounds.  I waited forever until I could no longer just pin my clothes to get buy before getting new ones.  And then I only went to thrift stores (yeah Salvation Army) to buy stuff to get by.  Eventually when I could finally fit into “regular clothes” (read: size 12 in a regular store) I went to the outlets and bought some basics to make it through.  I bought some jackets and pants, a few skirt and some shirts.

By the time I got to a size 12 I was entering seminary and didn’t really need many clothes because I was almost always in my Salvation Army uniform (we have to wear them in seminary and now for my job).  But I did enjoy looking at clothes in all stores and did buy things I liked.  But it was rare that I bought much.  I had the basics to get by.

Now that I’m in a church working I wear my uniform everyday.  And as soon as I get home I get into my workout clothes so that I feel compelled to go to the gym.  And when I get home from the gym I put on my PJ’s.  Occassionally I have to wear normal clothes to go out but I wear the same 2 or 3 pairs of pants and rotate the same 5 or 6 shirts.  I own really cute skirts and dresses and the like but I don’t usually have any reason to wear them.  They just sit in my drawers or on my hangers staring at me.

Even when I go shopping I’ll look at cute clothes but then realize I don’t have anywhere to wear them really.  I usually just pass them and sigh as I head to the exercise clothes.  I’m more likely to buy a new sports bra, capris or technical running shirt than I am regular clothes.  And you know what…I’m happy with that.  I’m happy that the nice clothes I do have fit and I don’t need more.  I’m happy that I want to spend money on clothes for working out that I love to do.  And I’m happy that my priorities are a lot different now.

And hey I got to wear a really cute dress I bought on clearance last year for the wedding I went to on Sunday.  It was great and everyone said I looked great.  If I could figure out how to put it on here I would show you 🙂

Question: Do you spend more on clothes now that you are thinking healthy? 

One Comment leave one →
  1. 12/08/2009 5:58 AM

    SHOES.

    NIKE.

    LOTS.

    it’s ugly 🙂

    (please to google AIR RIFTS )

Leave a Reply

