Skip to content

Crazy busy but I love it

31/07/2009

Another weekend and another out of town trip for our household.  Last weekend we traveled to PA to drop my cousins off after their trip and this weekend we have to travel to Old Orchard Beach, Maine for Salvation Army camp meetings.  We are excited because we’ve never been and it’s kind of like a mandated vacation 🙂  But we are going nuts because we’ve had to pack all the stuff for us as well as the furbabies to travel the 4 hours and be gone until Monday.  Lots of work to get done ahead of time and lots to take with us so that we can have it done before we get back to the office on Tuesday.  I guess no real day off this week…but such is the life of a Salvation Army officer.

Yesterday was awesome though.  Hunni ran the office for most of the afternoon while I got to go visit my friend Chelle in Schenectady.  We had a great visit and she took me to an awesome restaurant called Pinhead Susan’s.  I loved the cool atmosphere and it was kind of fun to be in my old stomping grounds (I lived there two summers ago during internship).  It was such a relaxing day and prepared me for the craziness of packing for the trips when I got home.  I can’t wait to go back and visit again sometime before the snow hits.

It’s a good thing I got in a small workout yesterday morning before leaving for Chelle’s because last night’s workout didn’t happen.  Not that I didn’t want to but I had too much to do.  I had lists of things I had to pack, phone calls I needed to make, things needing to be bought and the like.  I couldn’t justify going to the gym again, especially since I like a good hour workout  and only had about a half an hour.  I need to find better shorter workouts.  At least I had time to get in weights and some elliptical this morning and will run this afternoon once we get to Maine.

Crazy busy days mean crazy busy food too.  No cooking occurred yesterday.  Unless you consider microwaving my purple mess for breakfast (1/4 cup oatmeal, 1tsp olive oil, 1/2 cup blueberries and water in the microwave for 2.5 minutes and then top with 1 tsp of honey and 1/8 cup greek yogurt; mix and enjoy).  I ate out with Chelle and then made salads from the new Real Simple for dinner. 

Things are packed and ready to go for today.  I have to run to the library and pick up a book on CD for Hunni and me to listen to for the drive, some odds and ends and out the door we go.  I don’t know if I’ll have internet access until Monday night.  So if I don’t “see” you all I’ll be back with a post on Monday evening 🙂  Enjoy your weekend busy or not!

Question: Do you enjoy busy days?  & How to you fit in a good workout when you are crunched for time and can’t get in your normal workout?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

