Skip to content

Hunni Time and Inspired meals #2

29/07/2009

Hunni and I haven’t really had much time to ourselves in the last month with my cousins visiting.  We loved having them but if they were going to stay longer we would have had to institute “date night” so that we could enjoy some alone time.  Yesterday afternoon was that alone time we finally got. 

We decided to go to an afternoon movies so we could come home, eat dinner and still hit the gym.  Gotta love a husband who likes the gym too (or at least likes going with me 🙂 ).  After work we walked the dogs and headed out to the movies to see “The Ugly Truth.”  Hunni was skeptical that it would be a chic flick but wanted to spend time with me.  No spoilers but he LOVED it and so did I.  Chicky enough to make me happy and had enough guy humour to make Hunni crack up so much at one point he had to let go of my hand so he could bend over laughing.  And I thouroughly enjoyed the ending.  A nice date movie as long as you don’t mind the R rating (for language).  I would totally recommend it.

We drove home and had dinner together.  I had a bright idea to make our dinner over lunch and put it in the fridge so we could just reheat it when we got home.  It worked perfectly because we didn’t get home til around 6.45pm.  I made Broccoli Rabe with Whole Wheat pasta and spicy sauce.  I was so hungry that I forgot to take a pic, but it was delicious.  It is a WW recipe that I modified slightly.  I added more spice just because I like it and added some cannellini beans because I lifted weights and needed the protein.  Everything in the meal I had in the house.  I was very happy and we have leftovers for Hunni’s lunches for 2 days 🙂

We even got to the gym at 9pm and stayed for an hour.  I was full from dinner and the baked Smoked Bacon and Cheddar chips I bought at Target so I did the elliptical.  Hunni did the treadmill and we were both drenched after an hour.  Drenched and tired but extremely happy to have had a good day together.  Makes all the busyness of working together worth it when we get to spend some fun time together.

Question: What do you and your significant other like to do to spend time together?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

