Skip to content

Excuses, Excuses

21/06/2009

I seem to make every excuse in the book as to why I can’t post ehre daily…I’m too buys, I don’t have aenough time to do it right, I don’t have a lot to talk about, I’m not interesting… The list goes on and on but I’ve come to realize one thing this week, I just need to make the time.  I spend plenty of time during the day either playing on the internet or just watching TV that I have plenty of time to devote to a post.  And I may not have a ton to talk about but I like the journaling aspect of a blog and it actually helps me a lot with my health.  I may not have time to take pics of all the food I eat but I will do my best to note the interesting stuff.  I need to do this for me.  I’ve got “blog time” scheduled on my google calendar and hope to make this more regular.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Now onto the week.  In the last post I wrote I said I would be eating out a bunch and boy have I ever!  Hunni and I went to the ordination of our friends who are now the newest pastors in The Salvation Army.  It was a blast to see lots of friends we hardly see because of distance and time.  It was weird to remember being in their position just one year earlier.  We left really early because it was a 3.5 hour drive to White Plains.  I had a quick bowl of oatmeal with blueberries, honey and Fat Free TJ’s Greek Yogurt.  Its my favorite go to breakfast when I have a few minutes.  I packed some snacks a lots of water (apples and some Clif Zbars). 

After the morning ordination Hunni and I went to a cute little cafe for a quick lunch.  They had just opened about 2 weeks earlier and were not expect a sea of blue uniforms to descend on them.  But the food was great despite the slow service.  I had a spinach salad with thinly sliced pear, goat cheese and walnuts drizzled with balsamic vinegar.  My taste buds went nuts!  I’ll have to make this at home again later. 

The afternoon service was great and we got to find out where our friends were going for their first church appointments.  More importantly I found out where Hunni and I will be taking vacations!  We love staying with friends and are excited to visit them in many different places.  For dinner we stopped at Cheesecake factory.  We were trying to go to Whole Foods for their salad and hot bar (see previous post about my new addiction) but the one in White Plains kinda sucked.  Great food for me to choose from but Hunni is not a big fan of salad, noodles and indian food.  So we settled for the Cheesecake factory which was next door.  I got a HUGE Asian Chicken salad which I promptly devoured.  I ate a bit of the Honey Wheat bread with some butter too because it’s just THAT GOOD.  We were far to full to even think about dessert and at $6.50 for a slice of cheesecake I’m glad.

Monday was fairly normal so I won’t bore you with the details.  But Tuesday I had a bridal shower which was full of food I wouldn’t normally touch.  I snacked on some veggies and a bean and veggie salad and had half a tuna sandwich.  I also drank regular soda which did not agree with me.  Note to self: Pack alternatives for next time.  Wednesday Hunni and I had the only rest day we would have all week.  We decided to hit up the local pizza joint near my old High School.  The place is still the same but the menu is much nicer.  I got a great greek salad with grilled chicken that didn’t even need dressing.  Hunni got a pizza burger and enjoyed every bit.  I even snagged a few of his fries.

Thursday was the first of two weddings this week.  I ate very light during the day because I didn’t know what the food would be like for dinner.  I’m glad I did.  The food was from a great puertorican place near the seminary I attended.  Lots of good stuff like chicken and bistec and yellow rice.  And of course some maduros (sweet plantains that are fried).  And the wedding cake was red velvet.  I had a small piece of that too.  I enjoyed the day and the wedding was gorgeous.  I’m so happy that they are married.  They are almost like a carbon copy of Hunni and me.  We can’t wait to plan a cruise with them for next spring 🙂

Friday was an all day in DC with Hunni.  We had intended to go there for our Honeymoon but back surgery derailed that idea.  So this was kind of making up for that almost a year later.  Lots of crazy stories from the day including walking the completely wrong way from the White House and realizing we were the sketchy part of town.  But that did take us to Harris Teeter for lunch.  I always read on Kath Eats about her trips there and I actually got to experience it for myself.  I loved their selection on the salad bar and had a Hugh Jass salad ala LovIN my tummy and some fruit for dessert.  In total we walked for over 5 hours that day (that does not include times in museums and monuments).  For dinner we had a great time with some of my Weight Watchers friends.  Hunni was a great sport to eat out with 6 ladies and a cute baby.  He had fun joking right along with us.  I got a great Grecian salad from a restaurant called America.  Feta, olives, grilled chicken, orzo and a great tangy viniagrette.  So delicious.  Oh and bite of Sally Anne’s fried mac and cheese was good too.

I’ll have to write more about the second wedding and our anniversary dinner once we are back in Mass.  I’ll be there around 9 tonight 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

